Error 2 'PostBuildEvent' failed with error code '1' 'Unspecified error'

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Error 2 'PostBuildEvent' failed with error code '1' 'Unspecified error'

David Crozier

Hi There, I'm a bit of a newbie to Add-in Express.
I get the above error but have no-idea where it could be coming from.
'PostBuildEvent' failed with error code '1' 'Unspecified error'

I have the following as the Post-Build event, which links to the correct folder
"C:\Program Files\Add-in Express\Add-in Express for .NET\Bin\adxpatch.exe" "$(BuiltOuputPath)" /UAC=On

So I'm not sure what to do, please can you help?

many thanks
Posted 01 Jun, 2011 11:38:19 Top
Eugene Astafiev

Hi David,

Please check out the path to the adxpatch.exe utility. Is it located there? Are you able to reproduce the issue with a newly generated setup project?
Posted 02 Jun, 2011 01:39:16 Top
David Crozier

Hi Eugene, I can confirm that the path to the adxpatch utility is correct.
Also this issue does occur with a newly generated setup project.
Can you suggest any other possibilities?
Many Thanks
David.
Posted 02 Jun, 2011 06:16:33 Top
Eugene Astafiev

Hi David,

Are you going to deploy the add-in for all users?

Anyway, you can read more about the adxpatch.exe utility in the following articles on our technical blog:

* http://www.add-in-express.com/creating-addins-blog/2011/02/22/deploying-peruser-office-extension-msi-installer/
* http://www.add-in-express.com/creating-addins-blog/2011/02/22/deploying-permachine-office-extensions-msi-installer/

Finally, you can compare all the settings in both setup projects and find the cause of the issue you faced with.
Posted 02 Jun, 2011 07:21:35 Top
David Crozier

Hi Eugene. I will be deploying per user. However a "new" setup project has the same problem so I am unable to compare set-up projects to find the cause of the issue.
Many Thanks for you help in any case.
Posted 02 Jun, 2011 11:22:40 Top
Eugene Astafiev