Installing Add-In without Installation Folder Dialog

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Installing Add-In without Installation Folder Dialog
 
Yoav Shmaria




Posts: 5
Joined: 2006-02-27
Hello, I have implemented an Outlook Add-in and looking for a deploying way that the User who installing it (using Setup) wouldn?Â?Ð?ét have to decide where it will be installed, because its must to be installed into an existing Directory with some other files.

I have seen that it is possible to delete Forms from the msi Setup so they won?Â?Ð?ét appear, that?Â?Ð?és how the User will not see the Installation Folder Dialog.

8) Thanks a lot.
Posted 27 Feb, 2006 08:01:52 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7233
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Yoav.

Yes, correct. You can remove unnecessary dialogs in the User Interface editor of the setup project. To check if a directory exists you can use the 'Launch Conditions' editor.
Posted 27 Feb, 2006 08:26:43 Top
Yoav Shmaria




Posts: 5
Joined: 2006-02-27
Hello Sergey,
Thanks for your answer, but I still not see how can I set the Installation Folder using Code at Run-Time.
First I have to find the Folder of my other existing Dll's and then I want to install the Add-In into the same place.

Thanks a lot.
Yoav
Posted 28 Feb, 2006 05:36:59 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7233
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Yoav.

Where is the folder of the existing dlls stored? Is it stored in the system registry?
Posted 28 Feb, 2006 07:08:55 Top
Yoav Shmaria




Posts: 5
Joined: 2006-02-27
Hello Sergey,
Thanks again. No, I have to find it on the PC using Code, where the User decides to install the other Program.
Posted 28 Feb, 2006 07:25:00 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7233
Joined: 2004-07-05
Yoav, I am afraid the standard setup project in VS doesn't provide this functionality. You need to use third party installers or change the msi file using Windows Installer SDK.
Posted 28 Feb, 2006 07:36:48 Top
Yoav Shmaria




Posts: 5
Joined: 2006-02-27
Hello again Sergey, Is there a way doing it thru "Custom Actions" ?
I still don?Â?Ð?ét know how to use them.
Posted 28 Feb, 2006 08:40:06 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7233
Joined: 2004-07-05
Yoav, the Custom Actions editor of the Setup project doesn't allow you to add custom actions that can be performed before msi has copied all files to the application folder. Please read MSI SDK. I think you will find custom actions that will help you to implement your idea.
Posted 28 Feb, 2006 12:36:20 Top
Yoav Shmaria




Posts: 5
Joined: 2006-02-27
Thanks, I figure out another solution. Thru a CommandLine I can install it and pass the Installation Folder

CommandLine example:
msiexec.exe /i MySetup.msi TARGETDIR=[My Target Directory]
Posted 01 Mar, 2006 05:04:17 Top