Getting Started with OL Security Manager

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Getting Started with OL Security Manager
Registering assemblies and components 
Kevin Yurica

I'm just getting started with OL Security Mgr- so I may be missing the obvious. Anyway, the following approach (creating 'outlookApp') and adding it to my main 'Connect' object seems to compile fine, but generates a rather general error message. "Object Reference not set to an instance of the object"

One guess is that .dll registration could have something to do with it, since I haven't made any effort to register secman.dll. But, that's just a naive guess.

ApplicationClass outlookApp = new ApplicationClass();
Type olType = Type.GetTypeFromProgID("EmailApplication.Connect", false);
if (olType != null)
{
bool canQuit = true;
try
{
if (outlookApp != null) canQuit = false;
}
catch
{
}
try
{
if (outlookApp != null)
{
securityManager1.ConnectTo(outlookApp);
securityManager1.DisableOOMWarnings = true;
}
}
catch(System.Exception err)
{
}
etc.
Posted 29 Aug, 2005 14:27:56 Top
Sergey Grischenko

Add-in Express team

Hi Kevin.

Could you please try the following code to create an instance of Outlook application:

Outlook._Application outlookApp = null;
Type olType = Type.GetTypeFromProgID("Outlook.Application", false);
if (olType != null)
{
try
{
outlookApp = Activator.CreateInstance(olType) as Outlook._Application;
}
finally
{
if (outlookApp != null)
Marshal.ReleaseComObject(outlookApp);
}
}

Do you get the same issue?
Posted 30 Aug, 2005 01:11:21 Top
Kevin Yurica

Sergey:

Thanks for the suggestion. It appears an instance can be created. But, the following statements fail subsequently. Makes me wonder about how I have setup securityManager1...

try
{
"OK seems to work- no errors so far.."

this.securityManager1.ConnectTo(outlookApp);
"Error - Object reference ot set to an instance of the object"

this.securityManager1.DisableOOMWarnings = true;