active document, get as xml

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

active document, get as xml

Eric Kaufman

Hey everyone. This is my first time developing applications inside of Office, and I can see why I've avoided it for so long :D

I was pretty impressed when I saw the get_XML method laying around, and when I saved a word doc to an image as an xml file, it was pretty neat that the binary contents got base64 encoded. Being able to treat a word document as a full-blooded .net class (XMLDocument) makes it a lot easier for me to move it around inside of my XML/SOAP world.

I'm having a bit of a problem getting the active document out to xml though. It seems like I can do ActiveDocument.SaveAs, but isn't it a bit cheesy to have to save the file to disk, and then scoop it up from there?

I picked up the premium edition of Add-in-Express, if that makes a difference. Basically any help or guidance towards how I can get Word / Excel documents in and out of xml would be terrific.

Thanks so much!

Eric
Posted 08 Jun, 2007 18:19:31 Top
Sergey Grischenko

Add-in Express team

Hi Eric.

The fact is that Word doesn't provide any methods to save its documents in a stream. So I would suggest you to save documents to temporary files and then transfer them to a format you need.

P.S. Note that we take up your forum requests in the order we receive them.
Besides, it may take us some time to investigate your issue. Please be sure we will let you know as soon as the best possible solution is found.
Posted 11 Jun, 2007 08:50:13 Top
Eric Kaufman

Sergey;

Thanks for your quick and accurate response. Not being able to save to a stream will certainly restrict my options. Can I ask how to save a word document as xml to disk then? I've hunted around a while, and can only find VBA syntax ( http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa220734(office.11).aspx ).