Using Excel Functions (Evaluate)

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Using Excel Functions (Evaluate)
XLL with VB 
Mohammad Yamin

Hi,
I am new to Add-in Express. I am used to VBA but found the Add-in Express with the VB.NET very useful and powerful. However, I need to spend time learning the basics here. Most of my project is UDF's with XLL. Would it be possible to call the Excel functions like the sum, average, ... or the evaluate statement to evaluate for example "3+5/2" or "2*sin(pi())-1"?
In other words, how can I use ADXXLLModule.CallWorksheetFunction method mentioned in the documentation?

Your suggestions are highly appreciated.

Thanks,
Mohammad
Posted 19 Apr, 2022 11:32:14 Top
Andrei Smolin

Add-in Express team

Hello Mohammad,

Although this is possible to do with XLL, I suppose you are looking for Excel Automation Add-in, correct? Check section What Excel UDF type to choose; see the PDF file in the folder {Add-in Express}\Docs on your development PC.

Regards from Poland (CEST),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 20 Apr, 2022 03:49:44 Top
Mohammad Yamin

I thought the XLL is the one for faster computations! I reviewed the difference and I feel the XLL is the one I need for this part of the project that performs computations based on the user's inputs (I will need the COM addin for ribbon later). I wanted to know how to access the Excel functions to help with the computations within the UDFs. I tried the CallWorksheetFunction and it worked successfully (Yay). Two questions came to my mind based on your reply and my review of the documentation:
1- Do you recommend the use of COM addin and add an XLL module, and later I can easily add a ribbon when needed? or create XLL addin and later add a COM addin to the XLL addin to create a ribbon? Does it matter?