Upgrade of add-in installed via MSI package

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Upgrade of add-in installed via MSI package
Uninstall necessary? 
Phil Paul




Posts: 25
Joined: 2017-04-03
Dear Add-in Express team,

most of our clients install our add-in via click once. So we provide a new version and when they install it, the old version of the add-in on their computer is automatically upgraded without the need to de-install it first.

Now we have create an MSI-package with the WiX toolset.

Just for clarification: if any user already has an existing version of our add-in on their computer installed by the MSI package: can they just execute a newer version of the MSI-package? Or would they need to manually de-install the old version of our add-in before executing the new MSI-package?

I searched around but could not really find a clear answer to this.

Thank you very much in advance,
Phil
Posted 16 Oct, 2019 05:01:48 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16673
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Phil,

ClickTwice is meant to update (autoupdates are possible) your add-in: it uninstalls the previous add-in version and installs a new one in a single go. You can start with section Introduction to ClickTwice; see the PDF file in the folder {Add-in Express}\Docs on your development PC.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 16 Oct, 2019 06:56:02 Top
Phil Paul




Posts: 25
Joined: 2017-04-03
Hello Andrei,

thank you for your swift reply. I will look into this more closely.

We are seeing a situation where installing a new version of our MSI on a client machine creates awkward results.
The add-in is listed twice under control panel/programs and the loader fails with a "hash verification" error.

If I manually uninstall the old version of the add-in first, the msi executes fine and the add-in is installed correctly.

Do you have any hint what can cause such an issue?

best,
Phil
Posted 16 Oct, 2019 07:26:54 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16673
Joined: 2006-05-11
Phil,

I suppose you've changed UpgradeCode of your setup project.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 16 Oct, 2019 08:54:44 Top
Phil Paul




Posts: 25
Joined: 2017-04-03
Hello Andrei,

thank you for the quick response and your hint. I checked the UpgradeCode in the Product.wxs file and can confirm that it
has not been changed. The UpgradeCode is exactly the same in the two versions.

Do you have another idea how to tackle the issue?
Is there a log file that would show any errors when installing the msi package?

best regards,
Phil
Posted 17 Oct, 2019 01:22:42 Top
Phil Paul




Posts: 25
Joined: 2017-04-03
Hello Andrei,

just to let you know: everything worked well when I tried to update with a new MSI package.
I have no idea what was the cause but thank you for the clarification that no uninstall
was required.

best regards,
Phil
Posted 17 Oct, 2019 08:55:08 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16673
Joined: 2006-05-11
Thank you for letting me know!

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 17 Oct, 2019 09:05:56 Top