Outlook Add-in stopped working

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Outlook Add-in stopped working
 
Remco




Posts: 18
Joined: 2015-01-13
Hi,

We have build an Outlook Add-in for our customers, so they can upload e-mails and attachments to our application.

Last week we had some calls that de add-in stopped working, the menu options are no longer visible. It seemed to be working again after reinstalling the Outlook add-in.

But this morning the add-in also stopped on my own workstation. The adxloader.log (see below) indicates that there is a problem which prevents the add-in from working properly. Can you please tell how I can fix this problem?


Add-in Express Loader Log File: 08/29/2019 14:34:51:250

Startup directory: C:\Program Files (x86)\Logicworks BV\Logicworks CRM Outlook Add-in\
Loader version: 8.4.4395.0
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional Service Pack 1 (build 7601), 64-bit
Process Owner: Administrator
Command Line: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office\root\Office16\OUTLOOK.EXE"
Run 'As Administrator': No
Process Elevated: No
Integrity Level: Medium
UAC (User Account Control): On
------------------------------------------------------------------------
14:34:51:250 7356 6492 Start.
14:34:51:250 7356 6492 The minimum supported Office version is 12
14:34:51:250 7356 6492 The host's version is 16.0.11901.20218
14:34:51:250 7356 6492 Creating a new instance of the add-in loader.
14:34:51:250 7356 6492 Loading mscoree.dll
14:34:51:250 7356 6492 Success.
14:34:51:250 7356 6492 Loading the configuration from the system registry.
14:34:51:250 7356 6492 Getting the latest CLR version.
14:34:51:250 7356 6492 The latest CLR version is 'v4.0.30319'.
14:34:51:250 7356 6492 The configuration has been loaded successfully.
14:34:51:250 7356 6492 Runtime version: v4.0.30319.
14:34:51:250 7356 6492 Assembly name: Logicworks CRM Outlook Add-in, PublicKeyToken=F5812924BF74842E.
14:34:51:250 7356 6492 Class name: OutlookAddin2.AddinModule.
14:34:51:250 7356 6492 Registry key: CLSID\{C5B9EE91-8AF5-4691-985B-BFE6C06B32EE}.
14:34:52:480 7356 6492 Attempting to create a new instance of the managed add-in class: CLR - v4.0.30319
14:34:52:481 7356 6492 Loading CLR: v4.0.30319.
14:34:52:481 7356 6492 Calling CLRCreateInstance method.
14:34:52:481 7356 6492 Success.
14:34:52:481 7356 6492 Calling GetRuntime method.
14:34:52:481 7356 6492 Success.
14:34:52:481 7356 6492 Checking if the hosting API of .NET Framework v4.0 beta is installed.
14:34:52:481 7356 6492 The hosting API is up to date.
14:34:52:481 7356 6492 Calling GetInterface method for the CorRuntimeHost interface.
14:34:52:482 7356 6492 Error code: 0x80131022
Posted 29 Aug, 2019 07:53:24 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16681
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Remco,

Something is wrong with the .NET 4. Try to reinstall the latest .NET 4.X. Or, you can uninstall all of .NET 4.X and install them in the natural order.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 29 Aug, 2019 08:32:29 Top
Remco




Posts: 18
Joined: 2015-01-13
Hi,

I was searching the forum and suddenly noticed another post about this issue. Did not see it before. The problem was caused by the Microsoft Teams Meeting Add-in for Microsoft Office.

I remembered that Teams was automatically installed earlier this week on my workstation. We don't use it so I closed Teams, but did not uninstall it. When I disabled the Teams add-in, our add-in started working again.

I suspect that installing the latest version of add-in Express could also solve this issue for customers who are using the Teams add-in?

BR, Remco
Posted 29 Aug, 2019 08:33:10 Top
Remco




Posts: 18
Joined: 2015-01-13
Forgot to add a link to the other post: https://www.add-in-express.com/forum/read.php?FID=5&TID=14914
Posted 29 Aug, 2019 08:34:14 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16681
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Remco,

Remco writes:
When I disabled the Teams add-in, our add-in started working again.


Did enabling the Teams add-in revives the issue?

Remco writes:
I suspect that installing the latest version of add-in Express could also solve this issue for customers who are using the Teams add-in?


I don't think so. Make sure you check my response above.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 29 Aug, 2019 08:37:47 Top
Remco




Posts: 18
Joined: 2015-01-13
Hello Andrei,

When I reactivate the Teams add-in, the Add-in Express add-in crashes during load. Deactivating the Teams add-in solves the issue as before.

We have had many MS customer issues caused by Windows and Office updates the last year, I suspect this again is such a problem. So for now I know a workaround for our customers, until we created a new build with an updated version of Add-in Express.

Thanks for your quick response.

BR. Remco
Posted 29 Aug, 2019 09:08:43 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16681
Joined: 2006-05-11
Remco writes:
So for now I know a workaround for our customers, until we created a new build with an updated version of Add-in Express.


We don't have an Add-in Express version dealing with this issue. I don't suppose that we will be able ever create such a version.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 29 Aug, 2019 09:47:58 Top
Remco




Posts: 18
Joined: 2015-01-13
Hi Andrei,

In the before mentioned post, you suggested that installing a newer Add-In Express version could fix the problem. That customer had the same issue with the Teams add-in as I have now.

You: I've got that add-in installed on my machine. The issue doesn't seemingly occur for me. The add-ins I have use adxloader version 8.7 and above. I suggest that you install the latest Add-in Express build; see https://www.add-in-express.com/downloads/adxnet.php.


Chris: I installed the latest version and it seemed to fix the problem. Thanks for the help.



So I expect that if I upgrade to a newer version of Add-in Express the issue is fixed. I'll let you know.

BR. Remco
Posted 29 Aug, 2019 09:57:15 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16681
Joined: 2006-05-11
If two add-ins interfere, one of the add-ins should be fixed. Currently, the issue seemingly doesn't relate to Add-in Express.

As to that case, I regard it as a coincidence. Anyway, an add-in being installed or registered doesn't fix anything in the environment.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 29 Aug, 2019 10:07:38 Top