Add-in is not registered if RegisterForAllUsers = True

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Add-in is not registered if RegisterForAllUsers = True

Leon Lai Kan

Hi, Andrei

Just happened to hit upon this anomaly (?) by chance.

I am just beginning an Excel add-in.
I have created 3 Ribbon tabs, with groups and buttons with icons (glyphs).
I have not yet written a single line of code.

I build, register and debug.

The add-in loads correctly.

----

Next, I do an experiment.

I unregister the add-in.

Then I go to AddinModule.vb[Designer] > Properties and change RegisterForAllUsers from False to True.

I build, register and debug.

This time the add-in does not load. It is not even Registered in Excel.

-----

If I set RegisterForAllUsers back to False, the add-in loads correctly.

red
Is this normal behaviour, or have I done something wrong?

Thanks
Leon

-----
red

I read this in your ADX manual:

Before you modify the RegisterForAllUsers property, you must unregister the add-in project on your development PC and make sure that adxloader.dll.manifest is writable.

red
Posted 24 May, 2019 04:31:16 Top
Andrei Smolin

Add-in Express team

Hello Leon,

This isn't expected. adxloader.dll.manifest gets read-only after you save the project to a source control system such as Visual SourceSafe. For a newly-created add-in project, that file is writable with a really high probability.

We don't see any reasons for our code to misbehave in this fashion. Registering the project ends in one of these ways:
- The add-in gets registered and the "The Add-in Express project registration succeeded" message box is shown.
- The add-in isn't registered and the Output window contains information about compile-time issues.
- The add-in isn't registered due to an exception in the code of Add-in Express and a message box providing info about the exception is shown.