Missing Add-In Express context menu from VS2017 project

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Missing Add-In Express context menu from VS2017 project
Missing Add-In Express context menu from VS2017 project 
Larry Sater




Posts: 21
Joined: 2016-10-26
When I install the latest version of Add-InExpress (v 9.02) the Add-In Express menu (by right-clicking on the project) is gone. There is another post about that happening and I have followed those instructions with no help.

1. I make sure all devenv.exe are gone.
2. I uninstall the old version.
3. I reboot the PC
4. I install the new version

Same problem. I've done it many times now and have even removed registry keys and files before reinstalling.

I can reinstall the older version (8.09) and everything is back to normal. The only thing I can think of is that my old version was the Pro version and the new one is the Standard one.

Any help would be appreciated.
Posted 01 Feb, 2019 18:41:14 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16842
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Larry,

Make sure that the AddinExpress.MSO.2005.dll reference in your project is okay. If it isn't, delete the broken one, create a new one; it should point to {Add-in Express installation folder}\Bin\AddinExpress.MSO.2005.dll. You may need to restart Visual Studio after that.

If this doen't help, try to create a new project and check if it shows the context menu. If it doesn't make sure Add-in Express is listed on the About dialog (menu Help | About). If it doesn't makes sure that you select that specific Visual Studio version in an installation window.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 04 Feb, 2019 04:14:05 Top
Larry Sater




Posts: 21
Joined: 2016-10-26
The AddinExpress.MSO.2005.dll reference was pointing to the correct place, but I removed it and re-added it, restarted VS2017. No change.
I created a new project and the Add-in Express menu still was not present (the reference to AddinExpress.MSO.2005.dll) was there.
If I look in Help/About, Add-In Express is NOT listed. I am installing with an admin account.
When installing I select VS2017.

Again, if I go to the previous version all is okay.

Any thoughts?
Posted 04 Feb, 2019 10:45:31 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16842
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Larry,

Larry Sater writes:
If I look in Help/About, Add-In Express is NOT listed. I am installing with an admin account. When installing I select VS2017.


Is the product installed in Program Files? Can it be that the installer gets rolled back by that moment?

Please follow the suggestions below when installing Add-in Express:

- Close all Visual Studio instances and make sure there's no devenv.exe processes hanging in the Processes tab of the Task Manager window before you start the installer.
- Delete the target folder (if it exists)
- Make sure you are an administrator on the PC.
- Set UAC to its default level.
- In Control Panel | System | Advanced | Performance | Settings | Data Execution Prevention, set the "... for essential Windows programs and services only" flag.
- Remove the following registry key, if it exists:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Add-in Express\{product identifier} {version} {package}
- Run setup.exe by right clicking it and choosing “Run as administrator” in the context menu.

If the above steps did not help, please restart your machine and run the installer. If the error persists, turn your antivirus software off for a while, install the product, and then turn the antivirus on again.

If the above doesn't help, I would like to access your PC remotely today up to 6-6:30 PM my time (http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/belarus/minsk). I suggest using TeamViewer 13; in this case you'll need to send me your session ID and password (by email).

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 05 Feb, 2019 06:27:31 Top
Larry Sater




Posts: 21
Joined: 2016-10-26
Sorry to get back with you so late on this. I was in the process of getting a new PC so I decided to not worry about the initial issue I posted. But now I am having a little bit of a different issue with this project on my new PC

OS: Windows 10
VS: VS 2017
Project Name: QueryTool

I can register my VS project (via right-click/Add-in Express/Register). I can compile my project fine. But when I go to run it in Excel I get the following message:

Sorry, we couldn't find C:\AgVantis\Accounting\Development\QueryTool\QueryTool\bin\Debug\adxloader.QueryTool.dll. Is it possible it was moved, renamed or deleted?

When I create a VS Installer project I get the same type of message.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.
Posted 27 Feb, 2019 12:13:42 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16842
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Larry,

Larry Sater writes:
Sorry, we couldn't find C:\AgVantis\Accounting\Development\QueryTool\QueryTool\bin\Debug\adxloader.QueryTool.dll. Is it possible it was moved, renamed or deleted?


That's occurs because among the registry keys that your Excel uses to load add-ins there's a key pointing to that location but there's no file named adxloader.QueryTool.dll in that folder.

If your add-in is both registered from the Visual Studio IDE and installed, I suggest that you unregister it from the IDE and uninstall, then start Excel to make sure there's no traces of the add-in in the Excel UI. Finally, register *OR* install it.

Larry Sater writes:
When I create a VS Installer project I get the same type of message.


Sorry? In what moment do you see it: when you create a setup project, when you build it, when you run it? What exact message? What is the caption of that message? The caption points to the program that encountered the error, so this is very important.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 28 Feb, 2019 05:48:19 Top
Larry Sater




Posts: 21
Joined: 2016-10-26
1. I don't have the QueryTool add-in installed.
2. I unregistered it successfully (VS2017 > Add-in Express > Unregister)
3. I rebuilt QueryTool project successfully
4. I registered it successfully (VS2017 > Add-in Express > Register)
5. Whenever I "Rebuild" the Project though it almost always gives the Warning:

Unable to delete file "C:\AgVantis\Accounting\Development\QueryTool\QueryTool\bin\Debug\QueryTool.dll". Access to the path 'C:\AgVantis\Accounting\Development\QueryTool\QueryTool\bin\Debug\QueryTool.dll' is denied. QueryTool
6. I am an admin on my PC. NO Excel instances are open at the time (Task Manager - EXCEL.EXE)
6. I can Clean, then "Build" it without error or warning. Below is what is produced.

Mode LastWriteTime Length Name
---- ------------- ------ ----
-a---- 2/11/2019 2:55 PM 79360 AccountingCore.dll
-a---- 2/11/2019 2:55 PM 208384 AccountingCore.pdb
-a---- 2/25/2019 9:40 AM 4322168 AddinExpress.MSO.2005.dll
-a---- 11/20/2018 4:03 PM 1520837 AddinExpress.MSO.2005.xml
-a---- 2/25/2019 9:40 AM 671608 AddinExpress.XL.2005.dll
-a---- 11/20/2018 3:28 PM 94396 AddinExpress.XL.2005.xml
-a---- 2/27/2019 2:17 PM 624640 adxloader.dll
-a---- 2/28/2019 3:37 PM 334 adxloader.dll.manifest
-a---- 2/27/2019 2:17 PM 738816 adxloader64.dll
-a---- 2/11/2019 12:26 PM 10836 GLGetValue.html
-a---- 2/11/2019 12:26 PM 2179 Help.html
-a---- 2/28/2019 4:06 PM 73728 QueryTool.dll
-a---- 2/11/2019 12:26 PM 1445 QueryTool.dll.config
-a---- 2/28/2019 4:06 PM 85504 QueryTool.pdb
-a---- 2/28/2019 4:06 PM 5948 QueryTool.tlb

7. Running Excel or via VS2017 (>Start) gives me the original "Can't find file..." message.
8. Is adxloader.QueryTool.dll supposed to be generated when I build/rebuild the project?
9. Lets focus on this first and not worry about the Setup project yet as it is probably related.

Thanks.
Posted 28 Feb, 2019 17:13:15 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16842
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Larry,

Larry Sater writes:
9. Lets focus on this first and not worry about the Setup project yet as it is probably related.


Exclude the setup project from the solution to avoid any possibility.

Larry Sater writes:
-a---- 2/27/2019 2:17 PM 624640 adxloader.dll
-a---- 2/28/2019 3:37 PM 334 adxloader.dll.manifest
-a---- 2/27/2019 2:17 PM 738816 adxloader64.dll


This explains the error message. If an XLL module exists on the add-in project, the loader names include the assembly name, say, adxloader.MyXLLAddin1.dll (adxloader64.MyXLLAddin1.dll). You can add an XLL module to your project and then delete it to get the loader files renamed. Still, the error message means the loader files were registered as an Excel add-in and this means you should already have an XLL module in your add-in project.

Larry Sater writes:
5. Whenever I "Rebuild" the Project though it almost always gives the Warning:


I assume this is something relating to the build process itself. As far as I know, registering for COM interop may be involved. Anyway, I've never been able to find a real explanation.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 01 Mar, 2019 02:42:31 Top
Larry Sater




Posts: 21
Joined: 2016-10-26
Andrei, creating a new XLL module and then deleting it seemed to fix it. Also, creating my setup project works as it used to as well.

Thanks so much.

BTW: To fix the delete error that I get when rebuilding the project, I ended up putting a delete command in the Build PreProcessor (of QueryTool.dll) and that seems to fix it.
Posted 08 Mar, 2019 11:18:09 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16842
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Larry,

Larry Sater writes:
BTW: To fix the delete error that I get when rebuilding the project, I ended up putting a delete command in the Build PreProcessor (of QueryTool.dll) and that seems to fix it.


I've never met such a solution. Thank you for sharing it!

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 11 Mar, 2019 02:37:11 Top