OnSendMessage

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

OnSendMessage
Testing Excel ADX OnSendMessage Event 
Michael Kaden

Dear Andrei,

as I am new to the SendMessage/OnSendMessage Method I have made a test Project "ExcelCrash" which I send by email to support.

First, please confirm if I am right in that an Excel UDF cannot manipulate (change values, interior properties etc.) of cells in a range.Offset(x,y) from the calling cell. This is valid for all UDF's regardless if they are XLL or ComAddIn UDF's. So to manipulate other cells from an UDF one needs the SendMessage/OnSendMessage Method. Correct?

After you installed the ExcelCrash AddIn, open a new workbook. The Ribbon Tab "ExCrash" will be opened. If you press "populate" then the AddIn will populate 14 columns with UDF's. the number of rows is defined by the code

Private Sub Populate_OnClick......................
'##################################
Dim Tabsize As Integer = 100
'#################################

the first 10 columns will have an argument depending on "B1" The next 4 Columns will have UDF's with no depending argument. I did this to test out the Range.Dirty calculation, as discussed in this post:

https://www.add-in-express.com/forum/read.php?FID=5&TID=14891&MID=76767#message76767

I work with two String Collections and 2 different UDF's just to see how the method works.

In cell B2 B3 B4 I show how often the OnSendMessage Event is called, The String Collection 1 and 2 are called.

I can set this counters to 0 with the Zero Ribbon Button

On pressing Populate the UDF's are entered and calculated. I do not know, why the UDF's are calculated twice?

Changing the Value in B2 then the UDF's with depending arguments are calculated

Pressing Dirty, then all UDF's also without depending arguments are calculated.

So far so good, also the calculation time looks reasonable.