Patch release

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Patch release
 
nfsadx




Posts: 56
Joined: 2006-07-21
Hi,

Client has XPPro SP2 + OL2003 SP2

They had run my .msi onto many machines and have been happily using my v1 add-in for a while (bug free of course!) but have recently requested enhancements.

V1 contains the ADX RT components plus the dll containing our ADX forms. V2 will result in a change to this dll only i.e. no new files will be introduced.

When we release v2, is there a procedure we can follow to patch them from v1 to v2 without having to run another .msi.



Posted 12 Oct, 2006 06:13:27 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7229
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi.

If you use the adxloader, you can just copy a new version of the add-in assembly to the add-in installation directory and restart the host application.
Posted 12 Oct, 2006 06:28:06 Top
nfsadx




Posts: 56
Joined: 2006-07-21
Sorry, important to add that we are using the adxloader, not the shim.
Posted 12 Oct, 2006 06:28:16 Top
nfsadx




Posts: 56
Joined: 2006-07-21
Hi Sergey,

I tried this but because my add-in.dll version number has changed, I get an ADXLoader exception because it expects the previous version. What is the best way around this?
Posted 18 Oct, 2006 07:15:30 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7229
Joined: 2004-07-05
The ADX loader doesn't check the add-in version.
It only checks the public token key. Did you change the .snk file in the add-in project?
Posted 18 Oct, 2006 09:48:55 Top
nfsadx




Posts: 56
Joined: 2006-07-21
Hi Sergey,

The only things that have changed are code and the version number on the dll. I checked the public key token is still the same between the new and old versions - which is what you would expect given that i have not changed the .snk file.

My add-in dll is not in the GAC.

The error message i get explicitly states that it expects a particular combination of version number/culture/public key token. Only the version number has changed for the new version.
Posted 18 Oct, 2006 10:20:52 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7229
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Harry.

Sorry for giving you the incorrect information. Now ADX Loader use the the full name of the add-in assembly registered in the system registry in order to load it in a separate application domain. At present we are considering a new deployment model for ADX based add-ins. I am sure the ADX v3.0 will have more friendly deployment model based on the ADX loader than the current one. Now the best way to update the add-in on the client's PC is uninstall the old version of the add-in and install a new one.
Posted 19 Oct, 2006 08:27:30 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7229
Joined: 2004-07-05
Harry, I think your idea can be implemeted via the C++ shim.
In case of using the shim, ADX doesn't register the assembly at all. Therefore you can just copy a new version of the add-in in the current add-in installation folder.
Posted 19 Oct, 2006 08:52:27 Top