com exceptions thrown on _MailItem.Get_EntryID() when hot syncing

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

com exceptions thrown on _MailItem.Get_EntryID() when hot syncing

Jim Erwin

Hi,

I have been using Add-In Express for about 2 months now on an Outlook add-in. Overall, this has been a pleasant experience. I don't think the issue I've come across is specific to Add-In Express, but I'm hoping somebody in this forum has already run into and found an approach to resolve this issue.

The Outlook Add-In I've developed for a client has been deployed on about 70 desktops and a Citrix server. The add-in has been developed using Visual Studio 2005 / C# / Add-In Express .NET 2.7. The deployment target machines are a mix of Windows XP Pro SP2 running Office XP Professional but running Outlook 2003 as the Exchange client connected to an Exchange 2003 server.

I am currently handling the InspectorActivate event. When it activates, one of the things I need to check for is the EntryID if it's a MailItem. This works very well most of the time, but when it runs on desktops with smart devices attached and it appears that a hot-sync is happening at the time, checking the EntryID Property generates the following com exception.

---------------------------

Gsc.Jobs.JobMailOperationException: An error occurred during the auto-archive check ---> System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException (0xA0F4010F): The operation failed.

at Microsoft.Office.Interop.Outlook._MailItem.get_EntryID()
at Gsc.MsOffice.MsOutlook.JobMailItemHelper.IsUnProcessedInboxMailItem(MailItem mailItem, MAPIFolder inboxFolder)
at Gsc.MsOffice.MsOutlook.AddIn.Project.AddinModule.adxOutlookEvents_InspectorActivate(Object sender, Object inspector, String folderName)

-----------------------------