Closing Excel when Registering

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Closing Excel when Registering
Is it necessary for all users of the same machine to close Excel when Add-In-Express is updating registration? 
David Berglin




Posts: 9
Joined: 2012-09-17
We are using a Clickonce solution for our ADX addin. This is installed, per-user, on a server that allows 2 simultaneous users. When one user updates their addin version, the Clickonce process works normally (updates installation). Then the user is asked to close Excel. However, it waits for the 2nd user to also close Excel (The 2nd user is logged into the same server using a separate Windows Login, via Remote Desktop). This becomes problematic because the two users are not in the same room, and are sometimes unavailable to coordinate the closing of Excel.

Is this behavior expected? Is there a way for the 'registration' side of the update to require closing Excel for just the current user?

Would a ClickTwice solution have the same limitation?

Thanks for your help with this question, and thanks for a great product.
Posted 03 May, 2017 13:16:55 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14137
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello David,

thank you for the kind words.

I've reproduced this issue. It is now filed down under #10632 in our issue-tracking DB. We are going to fix the issue in the next build (no ETA at is available yet). I'll send you a note when we have a build fixing this issue.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 04 May, 2017 05:51:03 Top
David Berglin




Posts: 9
Joined: 2012-09-17
Thank you.
Posted 04 May, 2017 11:11:48 Top