VB vs C#?

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

VB vs C#?

Jeremy McClanathan

Hello,
I am wondering if any of the programmers at ADX have any experience and/or opinion regarding whether or not there is a significant advantage to programming in VB.net or C#? I have been reading through a lot of content on the web with mixed opinions one way or the other. So far, it sounds like C# has a much larger community and examples to learn from, which would be a big advantage if true. Visual Studio and VB.net or C# are new to me, but I am very comfortable in VBA, so VB.net certainly feels more familiar. Just wondering if you had any experience/opinion one way or the other.
Thanks!
Jeremy
Jeremy
Posted 23 Feb, 2017 02:07:42 Top
Andrei Smolin

Add-in Express team

Jeremy,

I'm an example of a programmer who switched from VBA and then VB.NET to C#.

VBA pushes you to save the typing time rather than the debugging time. This sort of laziness is quite harmless and it's easy to go over this barrier.

Because VBA hides many things from you, it doesn't push you to better understanding of what you do. As a result you just use "tricks" (they mostly work). In VB.NET, you need to use different "tricks"; you looks at them as "this requires time". This is true of course but writing COM add-ins in .NET does require better understanding of what you do. For me, C# (compared with VB.NET) seemed to be "another world" programming: I saw methods that you don't understood, complex constructs instead of simple ones (consider late binding).

Regarding late binding, in VB.NET they have Option Strict Off by default (this comes from VBA). Set this option to On and you won't find any serious difference between VB.NET and C#. Still, since most code samples are given in C#, a VB.NET developer should understand the following C# constructs:
- declarations
- loops
- the using keyword
- the System.Type.InvokeMember() method (it' late binding)