ADXCommandBarDropDownList And .NET ComboBox issues

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

ADXCommandBarDropDownList And .NET ComboBox issues
 
zbrdar




Posts: 2
Joined: 2015-10-07
Hi,

I'm trying to add dropdown list to ADXCommandBar in order to support MS Outlook 2007.

We are adding items programatically to dropdown list on initialization event:

ADXCommandBarDropDownList
- Objects can not be added, just strings (minor issue).
- We can not set the selected ID (item) so the ADXCommandBarDropDownList Text is always blank (big issue).

.NET ComboBox
- We have added ComboBox using the AdvancedControl and it shows in the CommandBar.
- Issue here is that we can not show programatically added items in Outlook UI.
- Items are added and Invalidate(), Refresh() was called but the control is always rendered empty.

How can we remedy this issues?
Posted 07 Oct, 2015 05:15:24 Top
Dmitry Kostochko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 2875
Joined: 2004-04-05
Hi Zoran,

ADXCommandBarDropDownList
- Objects can not be added, just strings (minor issue).


Sorry but the Office Object Model allows adding strings only.

- We can not set the selected ID (item) so the ADXCommandBarDropDownList Text is always blank (big issue).


I have just tested this issue and cannot confirm it. I used the following code and see that "test2" string is selected in the dropdown control:

private void AddinModule_AddinInitialize(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
    adxCommandBarDropDownList1.Items.Clear();
    adxCommandBarDropDownList1.Items.AddRange(new string[] { "test1", "test2", "test3" });
    adxCommandBarDropDownList1.ListIndex = 2;
}


.NET ComboBox


Could you please provide more details about the issue? How do you get access to the added .NET control? Do you use the ActiveInstance property? Please specify.
Posted 08 Oct, 2015 08:47:36 Top
zbrdar




Posts: 2
Joined: 2015-10-07
Hi Dmitry,

adxCommandBarDropDownList1.ListIndex = 2; <-- This works! Thank you.
ActiveInstance property <-- This also works! Thank you again :-)

Issues solved for now :-)
Posted 09 Oct, 2015 05:49:28 Top