ProcessRead and ProcessBeforeDelete not firing

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

ProcessRead and ProcessBeforeDelete not firing
Working with appointment drap/drop/resizes 
nfsadx

Hi,

I am a newbie to your excellent looking product so any answers should hopefully be trivial. I am using your OutlookItemEvents example ("C:\Program Files\Afalinasoft\Add-in Express .NET\QDemo\VS.NET 2003\Advanced\OutlookItemEvents") to understand how eventing works with your product.

We currently have a traditional OL customised appointment form which has code in the Item_Read() and Item_BeforeDelete() events that are activated when the item is changed BUT NOT OPENED. The 3 scenarios being:
1) in a table view, a value is changed
2) an item is resized in the calendar
3) an item is moved in the calendar

In the example's ProcessRead event handler, I have put a MessageBox.Show but this does not fire in any of the scenarios above. Please advise asap.
Posted 24 Jul, 2006 05:16:22 Top
Sergey Grischenko

Add-in Express team

Hello.

The fact is that the ProcessRead event handler fires when an Outlook item is opened. Double click on the item an you will get the message box.
Posted 24 Jul, 2006 09:27:45 Top
nfsadx

Hi Sergey,

So the triggering of the ProcessXXXX events in the Add-Ins are not the same as they are for a custom form. This may be a big problem for us as we have functionality in the Item_Read and Item_BeforeDeleted event that we need to move to one of your Add-Ins. The code ensures that a web service is updated if a person changes the times or deletes the item. How else can I get around this issue i.e. what common event fires in the scenarios given above?
Posted 24 Jul, 2006 09:40:59 Top
nfsadx

Hi Sergey,

Looking at the demo outlook folder itemS events solution, I understand what is going on and why the item event class is not in the picture unless an item is open.