When to use Register Project is visual studio

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

When to use Register Project is visual studio
 
Matt Driver


Matt


Posts: 152
Joined: 2004-08-17
Hi

Could someone please clarify when you should use the Register Project is visual studio for a adx project.

My project has its own installer to register other dll's etc and create registry keys. Every time I chance code I have to rebuild and re-install as the Register Project is visual studio does not force the changes through so when I run outlook I do not see my code changes. I would love to not rebiuld each time I chance code. so my question is what and when is the Register Project is visual studio used for ?

Matt
Posted 19 Jul, 2006 08:01:13 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7225
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Matt.

Do you mean the 'Register ADX Project' option of the project context menu?
If so, you should use it once to register ADX based add-in in host applications. Then you can just rebuild the project to apply the changes of your code.
Posted 19 Jul, 2006 09:50:52 Top
Matt Driver


Matt


Posts: 152
Joined: 2004-08-17
Yes the Register ADX Project.

So I only do it once per project which I have done. What I am having trouble with is changing code rebuilding classes and installer then installing. Then running in debug sometimes I am lucky and can debug most of the time I get symbols not loaded and cannot debug. If I rebuild and then re-install it works. any ideas.

Matt
Posted 19 Jul, 2006 10:09:28 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7225
Joined: 2004-07-05
Matt, do you uninstall the add-in installer before you run the add-in in the debugger?
Posted 19 Jul, 2006 10:43:23 Top
Matt Driver


Matt


Posts: 152
Joined: 2004-08-17
No I just install over the top I have the installer set to auto upgrade etc

Matt
Posted 19 Jul, 2006 10:49:23 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7225
Joined: 2004-07-05
Matt, you should uninstall the add-in from the dev PC before you run it in the debugger. Also please check the system registry. Probably you have some old registry entries left in the registry.
Posted 19 Jul, 2006 11:12:57 Top