Debugging Office Addin

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Debugging Office Addin
Problem with debugging office addin 
Michael McMahon




Posts: 56
Joined: 2005-05-03
Hi guys,

Am having some issues getting my Office Addin into debug mode.

The addin runs okay even in debug mode, but none of my breakpoints are getting hit.

Any thoughts on how to get debugging working again as I have a few issues I need to get to the bottom of with my addin?

Regards,


Michael McMahon
Posted 02 Jul, 2006 21:44:13 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7233
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Michael.

Try to clear the dll cache and run the add-in again.
Posted 03 Jul, 2006 07:15:21 Top
Michael McMahon




Posts: 56
Joined: 2005-05-03
Hi Sergey,

Are you referring to the Windows dllcache under: C:\WINDOWS\system32\dllcache or another cache?


Mike
Posted 03 Jul, 2006 18:39:32 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7233
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Mike.

I meant the following cache:
C:\Documents and Settings\<User name>\Local Settings\Application Data\assembly\dl2.
Posted 03 Jul, 2006 18:42:54 Top
Michael McMahon




Posts: 56
Joined: 2005-05-03
Hi Sergey,

I've cleared the cache but I'm afraid that hasn't gotten debugging going. Any other thoughts?


Mike
Posted 06 Jul, 2006 01:02:50 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7233
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Mike.

Have you tried to create a new add-in and run it in the debug mode?
Posted 06 Jul, 2006 07:19:44 Top
Michael McMahon




Posts: 56
Joined: 2005-05-03
Hi Sergey,

Yes, I have tested creating a new add-in now and tried running it in debug mode. What happened when I first tried to run in debug was very interesting. The breakpoints which were set in my new project didn't get hit, but the addinmodule from my main office addin project suddenly appeared in the Visual Studio IDE with a couple of breakpoints in the code where the buttons are added and the debugger stopped on those lines.

I then closed the solution and loaded my main office addin project and tested debugging with that one (putting a break point on the AddinModule_AddinStartupComplete sub). The debugger didn't stop on the break point though it appeared the addin was working

Finally I reloaded the new test addin and tried debugging in the same way but again the break points were not hit.


Mike
Posted 10 Jul, 2006 20:20:03 Top
Michael McMahon




Posts: 56
Joined: 2005-05-03
Hi Sergey,

Debugging has started working again in Visual Studio so don't worry too much about this right now. The main change that's taken place is that I've uninstalled and reinstalled the addin a couple of times after deciding to add our custom button to the standard toolbar instead of a custom toolbar (this was to get around the issues with word refreshing custom toolbars with more then one doc open). So I'm back in debug land. :-)

Thanks again!


Mike
Posted 11 Jul, 2006 02:27:28 Top
Markus Eilers




Posts: 1
Joined: 2006-07-27
Hi Sergey,

I am having difficulties in debugging as well.

On trying and starting the debugger, Visual Studio says it is unable to start debugging for an assembly project.
I "understand" the error, but am compiling a brand new - unchanged - ADXTemplate project.

Using VSTO the projects start outlook and the add-in on debug-start.

Any Ideas ?
( WinXP, Visual Studio 2005, all DE )


Thx&Regards,
Markus
Posted 27 Jul, 2006 13:13:42 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7233
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Markus.

It is simply. Just open the project properties and set the 'Start external program' property to a host application that you need.
Posted 28 Jul, 2006 18:50:08 Top