Debugging Why a Plugin Doesnt Appear in Outlook

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Debugging Why a Plugin Doesnt Appear in Outlook
 
Brian Leach




Posts: 11
Joined: 2005-10-27
Is there set of steps I can follow to figure out why my plugin no longer appear in Outlook?

I have a machine with VS2003 & VS2005, and I'm simultaneously developing plugins for:
VS2005/.NET2 (MS Project Plugin)
and VS2003/.NET1 (Outlook Plugin)

For some reason, my Outlook plugin no longer shows up. I've rebuilt, re-registered, tried COM Add-Ins from the Outlook menu, etc, but the plugin isn't even listed on the Add-Ins menu.

Is there a way to clean out the registry without breaking stuff? Do I need to re-install Outlook?

Thanks,

Brian Leach
Posted 27 Jun, 2006 07:53:36 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7233
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Brian.

Do you use the C++ shim for the Outlook add-in?
Do you register the add-in for all users (RegisterForAllUsers property = true)?

Probably your add-in was blocked by Outlook. Please check the 'Disabled Items' dialog in Outlook (Help->About->Disabled Items).
Posted 27 Jun, 2006 08:12:53 Top
Brian Leach




Posts: 11
Joined: 2005-10-27
I do not use the shim.

How do I get back to the Properties page which shows the RegisterForAllUsers property? When I click on AddinModule.cs, all I get are a few file properties.
Posted 27 Jun, 2006 08:55:14 Top
Matt Driver


Matt


Posts: 152
Joined: 2004-08-17
Right click on AddinModule.cs is Visual studio and select View Designer. Then click on the background of the new window but not on any of the icons it should bring up the properties window with the RegisterForAllUsers property. If properties does not appear then hit F4 whilst having the background of the new window selected

Matt
Posted 27 Jun, 2006 09:17:51 Top
Brian Leach




Posts: 11
Joined: 2005-10-27
Thanks, Matt. RegisterForAllUsers is True.

This is a project that I have built and shipped, and it works on a bunch of other machines. For some reason, it's no longer working on my development machine.
Posted 27 Jun, 2006 09:37:49 Top
Matt Driver


Matt


Posts: 152
Joined: 2004-08-17
Have you checked Outlook : 'Disabled Items' dialog in Outlook (Help->About->Disabled

Matt
Posted 27 Jun, 2006 09:50:20 Top
Brian Leach




Posts: 11
Joined: 2005-10-27
I did check, and there are no disabled items.
Posted 27 Jun, 2006 09:59:30 Top
Matt Driver


Matt


Posts: 152
Joined: 2004-08-17
I had a similar problem a few weeks ago. Is this project VS2003 or VS2005 and is it locked down to a paticular framework. I basically uninstalled all my add-ins that I had developed, rebooted. I then incremented the verion on the setup properties and rebuild reinstalled and it worked. No matter what I did I could not get it to appear on my dev machine but it worked on all others. When you change the code say yes to "It is recommeded that the xxxx " etc.

Matt
Posted 27 Jun, 2006 10:06:44 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7233
Joined: 2004-07-05
Brian, please try the following:

1. Open the 'Host Configuration' dialog (right click on the addinmodule)
2. Set the 'v1.1.4322' value for Outlook application
3. Set the RegisterForAllUsers property to false
4. Rebuild the project and run Outlook.

You will probably have to check the add-in manually in the 'COM Add-ins' dialog.
Posted 27 Jun, 2006 10:23:43 Top