Install fails on non dev machines

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Install fails on non dev machines
Cannot load type AddinExpress.MSO.ADXRemoteObject 
Matt Driver


Matt


Posts: 152
Joined: 2004-08-17
Hi

When I install on users machines on my new addin I get:

Cannot load type AddinExpress.MSO.ADXRemoteObject, AddinExpress.MSO, Version=2.5.1759.0 I am using XP SP2 with .NET 1.1 SP1 and .NET 2 all patched project running under VS2003.

Any ideas what is wrong with the installed.

Matt
Posted 13 Jun, 2006 10:55:26 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7228
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Matt.

Please add the 'Global Assembly Cache' folder in the setup project and put the AddinExpress.MSO.dll assembly into this folder. It should help.
Posted 13 Jun, 2006 13:27:17 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7228
Joined: 2004-07-05
Matt, you can also add the /GAC="MSO" command to all custom actions in the VS setup project. This command will add the AddinExpress.MSO.dll assembly to the GAC folder on the target PC.
Posted 13 Jun, 2006 14:07:29 Top
Matt Driver


Matt


Posts: 152
Joined: 2004-08-17
Hi

Not sure how to do this properly what I have done is dragged the AddinExpress.MSO.dll assembly in the VS project File System window from Application folder to GAC folder which is fine and that builds fine.

I then try and agg the custom action but when I click add then go to the GAC folder the AddinExpress.MSO.dll assembly is not their all I have the option is to select assembly or file. If I try that I then end up with two AddinExpress.MSO.dll assembly in the GAC and the project will not build.

When I then go back to File System I have 4 AddinExpress.MSO.dll listed and I get:

C:\VSS\Office 2003 Pivotal Outlook Mail Integration V3.0.1\POMI\POMISetup\POMISetup.vdproj Two or more objects have the same target location ('[gac]addinexpress.mso\2.5.1759.0_c20c070a1fc9a144\addinexpress.mso.dll')

and

C:\VSS\Office 2003 Pivotal Outlook Mail Integration V3.0.1\POMI\POMISetup\POMISetup.vdproj Unable to build custom action named 'AddinExpress.MSO.dll' because the file's Folder property is set to Global Assembly Cache.


Sorry to be stupid but could you confirm who to add this to the project.

Matt
Posted 14 Jun, 2006 05:37:39 Top
Matt Driver


Matt


Posts: 152
Joined: 2004-08-17
I think I have nearly solved it.

1. leave original AddinExpress.MSO.dll' in program files as is.
2. Add assembly AddinExpress.MSO.dll' to GAC install folder.
3. Add custom actions in GAC folder.

Only issue is when I build i get:

C:\VSS\Office 2003 Pivotal Outlook Mail Integration V3.0.1\POMI\POMISetup\POMISetup.vdproj Unable to build custom action named 'AddinExpress.MSO.dll' because the file's Folder property is set to Global Assembly Cache.

Matt
Posted 14 Jun, 2006 05:54:05 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7228
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Matt.

You just needed to add the GAC parameter to the existing actions.

E.g.
Install
AddinExpress.Install.dll /Shim="[TARGETDIR]\<shim>.dll" /GAC="MSO"

Rollback
AddinExpress.Install.dll /Shim="[TARGETDIR]\<shim>.dll" /GAC="MSO"

Uninstall
AddinExpress.Install.dll /Shim="[TARGETDIR]\<shim>.dll" /GAC="MSO"
Posted 14 Jun, 2006 06:01:55 Top
Matt Driver


Matt


Posts: 152
Joined: 2004-08-17
Hi

That works the installer is fixed but I cannot open the options page without an error now on non dev machines works with my machine. I will investigate its in the FindAddinModule function it is failing probably GUID's again

Thanks

Matt
Posted 14 Jun, 2006 07:29:16 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7228
Joined: 2004-07-05
Matt, did you set the Register property of the add-in primary output to 'vsdraCOM' in the setup project?
Posted 14 Jun, 2006 07:38:36 Top
Matt Driver


Matt


Posts: 152
Joined: 2004-08-17
Yes I do.

The odd this that is happening is I have the DetectNewerInstalledVersion and RemovePreviousVersions = TRUE and on my dev machine it works when I have new build upgrading etc but on other workstations it stats an already version is installed and will not do the upgrade

Matt
Posted 14 Jun, 2006 08:51:14 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7228
Joined: 2004-07-05
Matt, did you change the version of the add-in in the setup project? Probably you changed the product code after you had changed the version of your add-in.
Posted 14 Jun, 2006 09:29:40 Top