use secman.dll without osmax.ocx?

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

use secman.dll without osmax.ocx?
Is it possible to use the dll without the active-x to get the same result 
Robert Jennings




Posts: 6
Joined: 2008-02-13
I'm just wondering if I can call the dll directly using VFP without having to:-

a) Register the OCX & DLL
b) distribute the OCX

This would solve two problems:-
1) You have to get admin permissions to install the controls.
2) It adds 555KB to my app size once compressed

Are the OSMAX.OCX and OSMAX64.OCX active-x wrappers to secman.dll? If so can I use declare dll within foxpro?
Also what would be the functions that I would need to turn on message suppression and turn off message suppression.
Posted 27 Jul, 2011 08:28:16 Top
Renat Tlebaldziyeu


Add-in Express team


Posts: 132
Joined: 2010-02-15
Hello Robert,

This would solve two problems:-
1) You have to get admin permissions to install the controls.

Please note that you also need to register secman.dll or secman64.dll. Therefore this won't solve the problem, sorry.

If so can I use declare dll within foxpro?

I don't recommend doing it. You see, secman.dll may modify its API structure in different versions. There are a lot of specificities that are considered by osmax.ocx.
Posted 27 Jul, 2011 09:21:30 Top
Robert Jennings




Posts: 6
Joined: 2008-02-13
OK It's a shame about the registration as sometimes it's hard for my users to get administrators to do their thing.

Thanks for answering.

Best Regards
Robert
Posted 27 Jul, 2011 09:42:15 Top
Renat Tlebaldziyeu


Add-in Express team


Posts: 132
Joined: 2010-02-15
You are welcome, Robert!
Posted 27 Jul, 2011 10:20:39 Top