Outlook Security Mgr 2010 - Win Svr 2008 64 bit OS - Dephi 7 32 bit app - Regsvr32 error

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Outlook Security Mgr 2010 - Win Svr 2008 64 bit OS - Dephi 7 32 bit app - Regsvr32 error
 
Jeffrey Lott




Posts: 10
Joined: 2011-03-25
at CMD prompt
>regsvr32 ...path.. .\secman.dll
message pops up:
The module "Secman.dll" was loaded but the call to DllRegisterServer failed with error code 0x80070005

Any ideas? Thanks.
Posted 11 May, 2011 21:44:51 Top
Renat Tlebaldziyeu


Guest


Hi Jeffrey,

Please note that administrative permissions are required to register COM dlls.
The module "Secman.dll" was loaded but the call to DllRegisterServer failed with error code 0x80070005

This error means that the user doesn't have administrative permissions on that PC.
Could you please try to register secman.dll with administrative permissions? Did it get registered successfully?
Posted 12 May, 2011 02:54:41 Top
Jeffrey Lott




Posts: 10
Joined: 2011-03-25
I do have administative permissions.
I have been able to regsvr32 the dll on the networks windows 2003 R2 32bit servers.
This is the first windows 2008 R2 64bit OS I've tried to install the dll onto.
Posted 12 May, 2011 08:34:19 Top
Renat Tlebaldziyeu


Guest


It's a permissions issue. Please check your permissions on that PC.
Do you have any antivirus software on that PC?
Posted 12 May, 2011 08:53:06 Top
Jeffrey Lott




Posts: 10
Joined: 2011-03-25
On Windows server 2003 the command prompt runs with users full privledges.
On Windows server 2008 you have to right click the command prompt icon and select ?Â?Ð?ìRun as administrator?Â?Ð?í
I did not realize this.
I was then able the register the COM DLL.
Thanks.
Posted 12 May, 2011 11:07:52 Top
Renat Tlebaldziyeu


Guest


You are welcome, Jeffrey!
Posted 12 May, 2011 11:18:18 Top
Fabian H?ger




Posts: 4
Joined: 2011-05-25
Hi,

I am having the same problem. Am I able to register the secman in code of a standalone application, without having the security issue? Do I have the possibility to do a "as administrator" in code? C#?

Kind regards
Fabian
Posted 07 Jun, 2011 04:20:35 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 18823
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hi Fabian,

Process p = null;
ProcessStartInfo startInfo = new ProcessStartInfo();
startInfo.UseShellExecute = true;
startInfo.WorkingDirectory = Environment.CurrentDirectory;
startInfo.FileName = ...;
startInfo.Verb = "runas";
try

{
    p = Process.Start(startInfo);
}
catch
{
}
finally
{
    if (p != null)
        p.Dispose();
}



Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 07 Jun, 2011 05:25:20 Top