office 2010 64bit

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

office 2010 64bit
 
Darin Horton




Posts: 6
Joined: 2010-01-06
We write a stand-alone application that we force compile to 32bit. everything runs fine, except if it is on a 64-bit OS w/ 64bit office 2010. I saw this in the development guide:

Note that for a standalone application (not an Outlook add-in!), the bitness of the application must be the same as that of Outlook, not the bitness of the operating system. That is, your application must be 32-bit if used for Outlook 2000-2007 and Outlook 2010 32-bit; it must be 64-bit if used for Outlook 2010 64-bit. In terms of Visual Studio, you must never use AnyCPU as the platform for which you build your application; the platform must be x86 for Outlook 2000-2007 and Outlook 2010 32-bit and x64 for Outlook 2010 64-bit. You set a correct platform in the Configuration Manager dialog, see menu Build | Configuration Manager.


Are you saying that we have to have one build for 32bit using secman and one build for 64bit using secman64?? That makes it very difficult because we don't load our program on the user's PC - they access a single copy on the server (it makes updates MUCH easier because then it only has to be updated in one place instead of on every PC).
Posted 05 Jan, 2011 15:48:19 Top
Eugene Astafiev


Add-in Express team


Posts: 8540
Joined: 2007-07-25
Hi Darin,

What programming language do you use? Is it .net?
.NET, Extended MAPI, Windows Phone & RT
Posted 06 Jan, 2011 06:42:47 Top
Eugene Astafiev


Add-in Express team


Posts: 8540
Joined: 2007-07-25
Darin,

Please have a look at the Outlook Security Manager 2010 deployment: compiling a standalone application with “AnyCPU”, part 4 article on our technical blog. Probably you will find it useful.
.NET, Extended MAPI, Windows Phone & RT
Posted 06 Jan, 2011 06:48:07 Top
Darin Horton




Posts: 6
Joined: 2010-01-06
THanks for the information, but our application is 32bit running on a 64bit machine w/ 64bit Outlook. It is a .NET application. The application is not compiled for anyCPU but for 86.

This statement:

That is, your application must be 32-bit if used for Outlook 2000-2007 and Outlook 2010 32-bit; it must be 64-bit if used for Outlook 2010 64-bit.


To me means we can't do what we are currently doing (x86 application trying to access outlook 2010 64bit) - is that in fact the cast??
Posted 07 Jan, 2011 23:14:37 Top
Renat Tlebaldziyeu


Add-in Express team


Posts: 132
Joined: 2010-02-15
Hi Darin,

To me means we can't do what we are currently doing (x86 application trying to access outlook 2010 64bit) - is that in fact the cast??

You can access Outlook 64-bit from a 32-bit application, but the current version of Outlook Security Manager can't access Outlook 64-bit from a 32-bit process. So, if you use Outlook Security Manager in your application, you need either to compile it with "AnyCPU" and use CorFlags to configure the bitness flag or to compile it with "x64".

Could you try to compile your application with "AnyCPU" following the instructions from the Outlook Security Manager 2010 deployment: compiling a standalone application with “AnyCPU”, part 4 article on our technical blog?
Posted 10 Jan, 2011 13:02:48 Top