Outlook Add-ins for clipboard enhancement

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Outlook Add-ins for clipboard enhancement

George Robinson

Dear Andrei,

I saw your old article at The Code Project about Microsoft Outlook Add-ins.

Before I learn how to write these beasties (I'm a kernel-mode programmer, so high level stuff is shunned in my community), I wanted to ask you to define the capabilities of COM Addins for Outlook 2000 and 2002.

I just want to know if it is possible to intercept a built-in keyboard shortcut (CTRL-V) by a COM Add-in?

Before you ask me "what for?" I will explain what I am trying to do:

I would like to write an Addin to Outlook 2000 and 2002, that would insert an inline GIF or PNG image from the clipboard into the body of an email (inline), when the user presses CTRL-V.

A similar effect can be achieved by the menu command "Insert / Picture...", albeit only from GIF or PNG files on the disk (not from images on the clipboard :/).

In Outlook 2000 and 2002, a native GIF or PNG image present on the clipboard CANNOT be pasted inline into the body of an email, because Outlook does not recognize the GIF nor PNG clipboard formats (incidentally PowerPoint 2002 does recognize them and a native GIF or PNG can be pasted into PP, WITHOUT conversion to a huge CF_BITMAP or CF_DIB).

I am well versed in clipboard WinAPI and file format conversions, but I do not know if a built-in keyboard shortcut can be intercepted and enhanced like that by COM Add-in in Outlook 2000 and 2002.

Can you elaborate ? I'd like to beforehand know before I start learning this hairy high-level stuff...

Regards,
George
Posted 20 Oct, 2010 20:21:19 Top
George Robinson

I was thinking how to narrow down my questions and I came up with these 5 most important items:

1) Is this possible for an Outlook 2000 or 2002 Add-in, at all?