IE9 problems

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

IE9 problems
 
Phuong Nguyen


Guest


HI Support Team,

I ran into two problems that it is used to worked on IE7, IE8 but not IE9. I used add-in express premium 2011

1. Open link in new window, for IE9 it is always open new link in new tab even I want to open in new window. I used navigate2 method

2. When I checked Protected Mode, it is always return Proctect Mode off even I manually turn on protected mode on my IE9 browser. I used 'AddinExpress.IE.ADXIEProtectedModeAPI' API to check for protected mode

I used
- VS 2008
- Vista 64 bits SP2

If it is possible, could you please provide sample code how to make these 2 above feature work on IE9


Thanks,
Phuong
Posted 17 Aug, 2011 12:57:53 Top
Phuong Nguyen




Posts: 10
Joined: 2011-07-14
Hi,

I did a little bit more research on IE9 and it seems it had 'tab browsing' feature which will override pop up behavior. Is there a way to override tab browsing behavior programmable, i.e. if I want to be able to open an URL in a new window? Of course, I do not want user to change their IE setting.

Thanks,
Phuong
Posted 18 Aug, 2011 00:31:32 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7233
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Phuong,

1. This behavior can be changed via IE options (see Tab Browsing Settings).
2. IE should be restarted to refresh the settings in the system registry.
Posted 18 Aug, 2011 07:16:00 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7233
Joined: 2004-07-05
Is there a way to override tab browsing behavior programmable, i.e. if I want to be able to open an URL in a new window? Of course, I do not want user to change their IE setting.

I am afraid no. If I find any solution, I will let you know.
However you can use the code below to open a new IE9 window.

private void OpenURL(string url)
{
System.Diagnostics.Process.Start(url);
}
Posted 18 Aug, 2011 07:20:49 Top
Phuong Nguyen




Posts: 10
Joined: 2011-07-14
Thanks Sergey,

Your solution above still does not work for IE9 since tab browser feature take precedence on everything. I have to go with IE tab manually setup for now.

Phuong
Posted 21 Aug, 2011 20:56:26 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7233
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Phuong.

I can't reproduce it. The code above always opens a new window.
Please send me a screenshot of IE browsing settings on your PC. I will compare them with mine.
Posted 22 Aug, 2011 04:43:34 Top