Tabbing on Windows form

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Tabbing on Windows form
 
Carl Wuensche




Posts: 50
Joined: 2008-11-07
Is there a setting somewhere in Add-In Express that prevents a user from tabbing between TextBoxes and Buttons?

No matter what I try, it never lets me tab when I'm using an Add-In Express project... but it works fine when I do it on a normal project.

There is nothing I added personally that would prevent me from doing it, so there is something in Add-In Express that prevents tabbing and the enter keys.

I'm using Visual Studio 2010 (it did the same thing in 2008), and I'm using the latest version of Add-In Express.
Posted 07 Apr, 2011 20:13:50 Top
Eugene Astafiev


Guest


Hi Carl,

Where do you want tabbing? Is it the Ribbon UI? CommandBars?

BTW Could you please specify the build number of Add-in Express you use?
Posted 08 Apr, 2011 06:49:11 Top
Carl Wuensche




Posts: 50
Joined: 2008-11-07
I am using Release 2010.6.4.379.

Also, by Tabbing I meant I wanted to be able to hit the Tab button on the keyboard to switch between form elements such as the textboxes and Buttons.
Posted 08 Apr, 2011 10:12:54 Top
Eugene Astafiev


Guest


Hi Carl,

Do you use a regular windows form? May be Outlook Regions? Could you please take a screenshot of the host app with your form?
Posted 08 Apr, 2011 10:23:51 Top
Carl Wuensche




Posts: 50
Joined: 2008-11-07
Posted 08 Apr, 2011 11:01:23 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7233
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Carl,

How can I reproduce it? Do you open a modal form via a button on the toolbar?
Posted 11 Apr, 2011 11:38:03 Top
Carl Wuensche




Posts: 50
Joined: 2008-11-07
Yeah, I use

Dim myForm As New FormName
myForm.show()


After that I add textboxes, and it won't let me use the tab or the enter button no matter how many settings I set to try and enable it. Like I said before, it works on generic projects not involving Add-In express.
Posted 12 Apr, 2011 13:01:14 Top
Carl Wuensche




Posts: 50
Joined: 2008-11-07
Looks like this person had a similar issue with the enter key http://www.add-in-express.com/forum/read.php?FID=10&TID=7084&MID=35469#message35469 and maybe tab as well.
Posted 12 Apr, 2011 13:04:45 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7233
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Carl,

The code above doesn't open the modal form. Please use the ShowDialog method of the form.
Posted 13 Apr, 2011 05:01:23 Top
Carl Wuensche




Posts: 50
Joined: 2008-11-07
Oh wow, you have no idea how dumb I'm feeling right now. I can't believe such a small change in wording would make such a huge difference. :( :)

Thanks for telling me that. Any idea why form.show allowed the tabbing for normal forms in non add-in express projects and not in add-in express projects?
Posted 14 Apr, 2011 12:09:44 Top