Slow shortcuts after installing, ok on dev machine

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Slow shortcuts after installing, ok on dev machine
Experiencing slow IE startup time when loading from desktop shortcuts with addin installed 
James Bourne




Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-02-02
I have a simple component developed with Addin Express which adds an item to context menus.

It runs ok on development machine.

When deployed and installed on different machine the component runs ok but normal desktop IE shortcuts to websites take a long time to load (like 30-45 secs). IE loads fast from quicklaunch and standard IE desktop icon - it only seems to be a problem with user created shortcuts.

Uninstalling the component results in shortcuts working quickly again.

Development machine shortcuts work fast - only noticed the problem when deploying!

Any ideas what might be causing this slowdown to shortcut loading?
Posted 02 Feb, 2010 04:22:23 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14374
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello James,

I need to look at adxloader.log typically located in [My ]Documents\Add-in Express\adxloader.log. If you use IE 8 on Vista or Windows 7, then turn off the Protected Mode, reproduce the issue, and send me that file to the support e-mail address. Please make sure your e-mail contains a link to this topic.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 02 Feb, 2010 07:59:07 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14374
Joined: 2006-05-11
James,

Thank you for sending me the log file. But I can't see the delay in it. Are you sure you reproduced the delay before you get it?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 02 Feb, 2010 09:16:01 Top
James Bourne




Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-02-02
Andrei,

Yes, the log file does not show a delay which is weird.

I created a new Addon project (AddinExpressTest) but did not add anything to the default install and I still get the same problem. So it can't be any code i'm putting in.

The problem only occurs when using a website shortcut - to replicate:
Right click desktop
Choose New Shortcut
Type in a website e.g. http://www.google.com
Give it a name

With the addon enabled:
Loading using standard IE icon is fast - IE reports loadtime of addon as 1.2sec
Loading using the shortcut is slow (60secs to load IE) - IE reports loadtime of addon as 6.3sec
Log file shows no delay

With the addon disabled:
Loading is fast from both IE icon and shortcut

So in this setup i'm doing nothing different from the default setup and it's definitely the addon causing the problem as disabling it makes the problem go away. It's really weird!

I get the same result on my work PCs and Home PC - all XP Pro. I also get same result under Windows 7 in VMware.

Can you replicate this?
Posted 03 Feb, 2010 05:17:45 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14374
Joined: 2006-05-11
James,

I've reproduced this issue. Weird, indeed. Tomorrow, I'll talk to the developers and let you know abot the results.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 03 Feb, 2010 12:04:35 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14374
Joined: 2006-05-11
James,

I'm sorry, we don't have any explanation for this. If and when we have any, I'll let you know.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 04 Feb, 2010 08:08:23 Top
James Bourne




Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-02-02
Andrei,

I would say this is a major problem - I can't rollout an addon to the public that will cause this kind of slowdown on their machines.

I hope this is being considered as a top priority?

Many thanks

James
Posted 05 Feb, 2010 04:44:23 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14374
Joined: 2006-05-11
James,

We are looking at the issue. Probably, we will have some results next week.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 05 Feb, 2010 09:37:22 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14374
Joined: 2006-05-11
To all.

The bug was fixed and a new build was sent to James. He has confimed that the issue is really solved.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 09 Feb, 2010 11:04:00 Top