SideBar Newbie Questions: Max Size, Runtime Title change, Toolbar Button

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

SideBar Newbie Questions: Max Size, Runtime Title change, Toolbar Button
 
Michael Gatzonis




Posts: 10
Joined: 2009-12-16
I have add-in express for IE 2009 and I am developing a Sidebar. I have a few questions I want to make:

1. My Sidebar Width is limited to about 50% of the IE Window. When I specify a greater size in Design, it opens correctly but on resize, does not allow me to drag it again to that size. Is that a hard limit or it can be overridden?
2. I cannot change the Sidebar's title in runtime. Is that correct?
3. The Icon for the toolbar button does not work. It always show the default "Tools" Icon of IE
4. Is there a way I can be notified about change in the zoom level of IE so I can adjust the fonts on the sidebar?

Thank you

Michael
Posted 16 Dec, 2009 03:36:16 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7202
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Michael.

1. I think you just need to change the size at the runtime. And the MinSize and MaxSize properties should be set to -1.
2. Yes, correct.
3. What is the size of your icons? Do they have the same size as sample icons (HappyFace) in our projects?
4. No, IE doesn't provide such a possibility.
Posted 16 Dec, 2009 09:50:10 Top
Michael Gatzonis




Posts: 10
Joined: 2009-12-16
Hello Again,

1. How do I do that? The user drags the windows to resize, what could I write to the code behind (onResize Event I guess)?
2. Thanks
3. I use the icons provided by the template (SampleIcon1, SampleIcon2)
4. Thanks
Posted 17 Dec, 2009 03:12:41 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7202
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Michael.

I would suggest you to set the size programmatically when IE starts and then the user should be able to change the size as he likes. As to icons, I can't reproduce it. Please send me a screenshot of your buttons.
Posted 17 Dec, 2009 08:10:12 Top