Toolbar downloader fails to download

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Toolbar downloader fails to download
Setup.exe fails to download the downloader 
Shawn Mullen




Posts: 9
Joined: 2012-11-29
When I launch Setup.exe it check for prereqs, then attempts to download the toolbar downloader. IE opens and I can see "ieframe.dll" show up in the title bar and then IE crashes with "MS IE Shell stopped working". No other error occurs and no other message.

If I make Chrome my default browser and download Setup.exe and launch, the downloader downloads fine and executes fine. Only when IE is my default browser does Setup.exe have a problem with downloading the downloader.

Any ideas?

Shawn
Posted 29 Nov, 2012 16:21:32 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7202
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Shawn,

We used to face a similar issue. Usually it was solved after all the latest updates for the operating system and .NET Framework were installed.
Posted 30 Nov, 2012 06:31:14 Top
Shawn Mullen




Posts: 9
Joined: 2012-11-29
Yea, I tried all that. Still no change.
Posted 30 Nov, 2012 12:15:55 Top
Shawn Mullen




Posts: 9
Joined: 2012-11-29
Well, I've tried everything I could think of. IE crashes as soon as it attempt to download the downloader. I'm in a time crunch so it's off to find another solution.
Posted 30 Nov, 2012 15:14:44 Top
Shawn Mullen




Posts: 9
Joined: 2012-11-29
This is the error in the event log:

EventType clr20r3, P1 ieexec.exe, P2 2.0.50727.3053, P3 4889dd0c, P4 ieexec, P5 2.0.0.0, P6 4889dd0c, P7 9, P8 22e, P9 system.io.filenotfoundexception, P10 NIL.

What file is it looking for? This error happens when it is attempting to download the downloader.



Update:

Using Fiddler i see that "<toolbarname>.exe.config" is trying to be downloaded but does not exist.
Posted 30 Nov, 2012 16:09:40 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7202
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Shawn,

What version of .NET Framework do you develop the add-on for? Does the target PC has the same version/build of .NET installed?
Posted 03 Dec, 2012 03:48:43 Top
Shawn Mullen




Posts: 9
Joined: 2012-11-29
I'm targeting 2.0. I have two machines I'm testing on, and both have 2.0 installed. However, why does that matter? Shouldn't the setup.exe download and install 2.0 if it's needed? Isn't that the point of setup.exe?

THanks,

Shawn
Posted 03 Dec, 2012 11:36:20 Top
Shawn Mullen




Posts: 9
Joined: 2012-11-29
More info.

It all works fine if I use Chrome to download and install the toolbar. The reason is "iexec.exe" does not run if I use chrome. Are there any IE explorer permissions that might interfere with the download and install process, besides the obvious?

Thanks,

Shawn
Posted 03 Dec, 2012 12:30:28 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7202
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Shawn,

If you set prerequisites in the Prerequisites dialog of the Publish wizard, setup.exe should download and install them.
At the moment I am investigating this issue. Still can't reproduce it on Win7 + IE9 + Google Chrome.
I will let you know if I find any solution.
Posted 04 Dec, 2012 04:48:04 Top
Shawn Mullen




Posts: 9
Joined: 2012-11-29
I got it working. All I did was recreate the setup project. I still have no idea why it was happening, but starting over worked.
Posted 06 Dec, 2012 11:54:02 Top