"reset" IE?

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

"reset" IE?
 
orange_roughy




Posts: 25
Joined: 2012-06-22
hi,

My development environment is hosed.

screenshot: http://imgur.com/N8pwS

while developing my toolbar, i've somehow ruined IE GUI that I use for development. I used the Microsoft Fixit Tool to ensure I removed the setup.msi-installed ver sion (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2438651/). I also unregistered the toolbar in Visual Studio.

I do not see my toolbar when I start IE, but other IE toolbars are black. how can i fix this? i'm willing to do anything short of reinstalling windows (that would take too long because i'd also have to re-install all fix packs, Visual Studio, etc).

windows xp, IE 8.


thank you,
orange
Posted 27 Jun, 2012 10:43:52 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7202
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Orange,

Please try to uninstall IE8 completely, restart WinXP and install IE8 again. It should help.
Also, you will need to install all the latest updates for WinXP.
Posted 28 Jun, 2012 07:18:45 Top
Eugene Astafiev


Add-in Express team


Posts: 8540
Joined: 2007-07-25
Hi Eric,

You can disable all other plugins in the Manage Add-ons dialog window. Also you can re-install Internet Explorer (see the Control Panel applet in Windows). Which way do you prefer?
.NET, Extended MAPI, Windows Phone & RT
Posted 28 Jun, 2012 07:24:02 Top
orange_roughy




Posts: 25
Joined: 2012-06-22
Well, the problem is gone. Thanks, guys, for the help! but now when I register my toolbar, i get this error in Visual Studio:

Error	1	Cannot register assembly [removed] Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.

Looks like other peopl in the forums report this problem, too. They talk about looking in an ADX logfile in My Documents. But the two files there haven't been touched since yesterday (timestamp). Is there somewhere else to look for more information about this?

thanks,
Mr. Orange P. Roughy.
Posted 28 Jun, 2012 09:28:09 Top
Eugene Astafiev


Add-in Express team


Posts: 8540
Joined: 2007-07-25
Hi Eric,

Do you have any applied code in the toolbar module ctor? Or any static fields?
.NET, Extended MAPI, Windows Phone & RT
Posted 28 Jun, 2012 09:47:56 Top
orange_roughy




Posts: 25
Joined: 2012-06-22
Removing the code in the ctor fixed it. How do I add onConnect handler?
Posted 28 Jun, 2012 10:38:06 Top
orange_roughy




Posts: 25
Joined: 2012-06-22
I found it by searching the forums:

this.OnConnect += new AddinExpress.IE.ADXIEConnect_EventHandler(this.IEModule_OnConnect); 
private void IEModule_OnConnect(object sender, int threadId) { }
Posted 28 Jun, 2012 11:48:02 Top
Eugene Astafiev


Add-in Express team


Posts: 8540
Joined: 2007-07-25
Hi Eric,

Thank you for letting us know and good luck with your add-on project!
.NET, Extended MAPI, Windows Phone & RT
Posted 29 Jun, 2012 08:45:31 Top