Simple Excel PlugIn on One Computer will not work on another

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Simple Excel PlugIn on One Computer will not work on another
Simple Excel PlugIn on One Computer will not work on another 
George Spears




Posts: 78
Joined: 2010-05-06
Hello, I have 2 computers, both running Windows 11. My development computer has Delphi 11.3, Excel 2021, and Add-In Version 10.0 Release (build 1700) (according to the whatsnew.txt file). My laptop had no delphi, and runs Office 365.

I have created the simplest possible Excel add in, which runs fine on my development computer. When I copy the DLL to the laptop and try to install it, I get nothing, but Excel says "Not loaded. A Runtime error occurred in the loading of the COM Add-in". Here are the specifics:

On my development computer:

    Create Directory D:\Projects\ExcelTest
    Use Winzard to create a new project of type ADX Com Add-In
    Project Name: ExcelTest, CoClassName: ExcelTestClass, Register with Admin Priveledges, No InnoSetup, Set project folder to $(BDSPROJECTSDIR)\ExcelTest
    No Office Task Panes
    Click Finish, I see ExcelTest_IMPL
    Build Config is Debug, I set Target Platform to 64 BIT
    I add an adxRibbonTab to the IMPL module, and add 3 RibbonGroups
    Save All, Build ExcelTest

    I open up a CMD window as Administrator. Navigate to D:\Projects\Exceltest\Win64
    I see my ExcelTest.dll, at 7MB
    Run 'regsvr32 Exceltest.dll'. I get a 'succeeded' popup.
    I start excel, and I see my new ribbon. All looks good.

    I copy the DLL to the laptop. (A different directory though, as that directory structure does NOT exist on the laptop).
    On the laptop, I right click on the DLL file, and under properties, I click on 'Unblock', and set security permissions to 'Full Control'
    I open a Administrator level CMD window, and navigate to the proper directory.
    Run 'regsvr32 Exceltest.dll'. I get a 'DllRegisterServer in exceltest.dll succeeded' popup.
    I start excel, but I do not see my new ribbon menu.
    When I go to Excel Options / AddIns / Com AddIns, I see 'Not loaded. A Runtime error occurred in the loading of the COM Add-in'.



I am at a loss as to what else to try. The only thing I can see being different is the versions of Excel. Where do I go from here?
Posted 01 Nov, 2023 11:29:16 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 18782
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello George,

And Excel on your laptop is 32bit or 64bit?

Regards from Poland (GMT+1),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 01 Nov, 2023 12:19:53 Top
George Spears




Posts: 78
Joined: 2010-05-06
It is a company supplied laptop, and I never thought about checking the Office/Excel bit level... :(
That was the culprit.

Thank you!
Posted 01 Nov, 2023 12:35:01 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 18782
Joined: 2006-05-11
No problem.

Regards from Poland (GMT+1),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 02 Nov, 2023 09:14:16 Top