Com-AddIn based User Defined Function name doesn't show up in function list after typing = on the worksheet

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Com-AddIn based User Defined Function name doesn't show up in function list after typing = on the worksheet
Problems using Com-addIn based UDF both on worksheet and VBA level in Excel  
Han Raas

Dear Sir/Madam,

First some background.
Let me introduce myself. My name is Han Raas. I am a Dutch chemical engineer and owner of the company Enssim Software, having used Pascal and later Delphi, for development of process engineering software starting from the year 1987. The last ten years I also have deployed Delphi to produce common dll's containing the aforementioned software to be deployed in an Excel environment. These dll's contain functions and procedures that are imported in Excel by the usual VBA Declare statements. However, I want to get rid of VBA-based dll-functions importing interfaces for my dll's. As far as I know this is possible by developing COM-Addin's for which I use AddIn express for VCL (since January 2021)

Problems
I have developed a small and simple COM-addIn dll to test the use of Com-AddIns within Excel. Result up til now: I can use the (COM addIn) functions on a worksheet level but the name of a particular function does not show-up in the functions list created after having typed "= plus one or more characters of the name of a particular function" (problem no. 1)

Another, even worse problem is that the function is not recognised by any VBA code calling the function (or subroutine) This leads to a compilation error in VBA. (problem no. 2)

What actions should I take to solve the problems mentioned above?

(Delphi Version : 10.4.1
Office version: Microsoft 365)

Met vriendelijke groet/ Best Regards,

Han Raas
Posted 03 Feb, 2021 09:09:48 Top
Andrei Smolin

Add-in Express team

Hello Han,