How to position a ribbon group on a built in ribbon tab

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

How to position a ribbon group on a built in ribbon tab
How do I position a ribbon group on a built in ribbon tab? 
Andrew Lockwood


Guest


I have added a TADXRibbonTab to my project, and set the IDMso to "TabTask", and my new tab appears as the last group on the Task tab (in a Task Inspector).

However, I have tried setting InsertBeforeIDMso to "GroupTaskOptions" (and to everything else I can think of), but whatever I do, my group still appears as the last group on the ribbon.

Please can someone explain to me how to position my group where I want to put it on the tab?
Posted 06 Jan, 2015 21:14:53 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 18806
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Andrew,

What you do is correct. I think that you don't get a result because the group GroupTaskOptions is invisble (at least, it doesn't show up when I open an inspector window to create a new task. Below is the list of groups that can be used on a task inspector in Outlook 2013:
GroupSend
GroupActions
GroupShow
GroupRespond
GroupManageTask
GroupNames
GroupRecurrence
GroupTaskOptions
GroupZoom
GroupInk

Make sure that you have the "Show add-in user interface errors" check box selected, see File | Options | Advanced.


Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 08 Jan, 2015 07:01:48 Top
Andrew Lockwood


Guest


Thanks for the reply, but it has not helped yet.

Firstly, I am running Outlook 2007, not 2013.

I have now tried placing the group after GroupShow, but it still appears at the end.

I have also enabled the "show add-in user interface errors", but I am not getting any error messages - I just still end up with the group box at the end, after all the other ones.

Do you have any other suggestions?

Thanks.
Posted 08 Jan, 2015 08:58:54 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 18806
Joined: 2006-05-11
Andrew,

Here's the list of groups on the Task tab in Outlook 2007:

GroupSend
GroupActions
GroupShow
GroupRespond
GroupManageTask
GroupTaskOptions
GroupProofing
GroupInk

If this doesn't help, I'll create a sample project tomorrow.

BTW, make sure that your add-in project is registered.


Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 08 Jan, 2015 09:07:03 Top
Andrew Lockwood


Guest


Unfortunately, that does not help - I am currently trying GroupShow, which is in your list.

Just a thought. Does it matter which version of the Microsoft Office library files I use. I note that when I created the project, the AddIn Module unit added the Outlook2000 and Office2000 units, not Outlook2007 and Office2007.

Also, I note that when I add components to an adxOlExplorerCommandBar, the only options I have are Office 2000, Office XP and Office 2003, whereas I was expecting to see Office 2007. Is this relevant?

Thanks.
Posted 08 Jan, 2015 09:18:21 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 18806
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Andrew,

Andrew Lockwood writes:
Is this relevant?


No, this isn't.

Here're the settings of the add-in module from a sample project (with no code) that works for me:

object AddInModule: TAddInModule
  OldCreateOrder = True
  AddInName = 'coPositionRibbonGroupOnTaskTab'
  SupportedApps = [ohaOutlook]
  TaskPanes = <>
  Left = 1165
  Top = 98
  Height = 400
  Width = 380
  object adxRibbonTab1: TadxRibbonTab
    Caption = 'adxRibbonTab1'
    Controls = <
      item
        Id = 'adxRibbonGroup1CEE5F3AD7D64F989382609D8584C309'
        InsertBeforeIdMso = 'GroupShow'
        Caption = 'adxRibbonGroup1'
        Ribbons = [msrOutlookTask]
        Ribbons2010 = []
        ControlTypes = {0100000007000000}
        Controls_ = <
          item
            Id = 'adxRibbonButton1875478EC6C046528C7808C6E89BDB11'
            Caption = 'adxRibbonButton1'
            Ribbons = [msrOutlookTask]
            Ribbons2010 = []
          end>
      end>
    Id = 'adxRibbonTab435BA850EF0143BAB7124015B2FC44CE'
    IdMso = 'TabTask'
    Left = 64
    Top = 72
    Ribbons = [msrOutlookTask]
    Ribbons2010 = []
  end
end



Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 09 Jan, 2015 06:14:43 Top
Andrew Lockwood


Guest


Thank you very much!

Where I was going wrong was that I was setting InsertBeforeIdMso on the TadxRibbonTab component, instead of on the TadxRibbonGroup component!

Hopefully as I explore the product, I will get used to how it works.

Thanks again.
Posted 09 Jan, 2015 09:11:06 Top