[Outlook] Add item to "New Items" popup menu

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

[Outlook] Add item to "New Items" popup menu
How to add item to existting menu or ribbon group 
Mykhaylo Boreyko

Hello.

I need some way to add menu item to "New Items" popup menu of Outlook 2007-2010. For example, user opens "New Items" and selects "Message to Mars". After that "New message" window opens with some custom parameters, i.e. To field = "Curiosity@mars.com", changed save folder, etc.

Can you help me with this? I'm new to Outlook development and haven't found anything similar on this forum.
Posted 15 Oct, 2012 03:29:15 Top
Andrei Smolin

Add-in Express team

Hello Mykhaylo,

Adding such an item to the main menu of Outlook 2007 is described in the manual, see the section "Step #9 ?Â?Ð?ã Customizing Main Menus in Outlook".

As to Outlook 2010, here are the settings of a Ribbon Context Menu component showing a Ribbon button right below the "E-mail message" item in the menu which drops down when you click the Ribbom button "New Items" in the Outlook 2010 Explorer window:

object adxRibbonContextMenu1: TadxRibbonContextMenu
    ContextMenuNames.Strings = (
      'Outlook.Explorer.MenuMailNewItem')
    Left = 200
    Top = 304
    ControlTypes = {0100000007000000}
    Controls_ = <
      item
        Id = 'adxRibbonButton011D424FC61647BD8F1CBA5B9C5D1090'
        InsertAfterIdMso = 'NewMailMessageCompact'
        Caption = 'adxRibbonButton4'
        Ribbons = [msrOutlookExplorer]
        Ribbons2010 = [msrOutlookExplorer2010]
      end>
    Ribbons = [msrOutlookExplorer]
    Ribbons2010 = [msrOutlookExplorer2010]
  end

The strings 'MenuMailNewItem' and 'NewMailMessageCompact' are IDs of Ribbon controls built into Office; please check the section "Referring to Built-in Ribbon Controls" in the manual on how to find these.

Does this work for you?

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 15 Oct, 2012 05:14:14 Top