Add External Data Connection?

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Add External Data Connection?
 
Rick Harby




Posts: 23
Joined: 2010-08-13
I'm trying to automate adding a connection to our Analytics cube without the user needing to go over to 'Data' and add a connection. However the only reference I can find to connections is on the Sheet via the OLEDBObjects method. Does anyone have an example of adding a new connection to a worksheet? Thanks.
Posted 17 Mar, 2011 15:44:55 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 17179
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hi Rick,

I'd recommend recording a macro.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 18 Mar, 2011 05:54:23 Top
Rick Harby




Posts: 23
Joined: 2010-08-13
I get how to record a macro and use it to create a connection, but if I run that multiple times it will fail. I need to be able to detect if the connection already exists before I run the macro.. Any ideas?

Rick
Posted 18 Mar, 2011 08:56:59 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 17179
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hi Rick,

Can you please paste the macro here?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 18 Mar, 2011 11:18:42 Top