Buttons not updating on CommandBar & InspectorCommandBar

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Buttons not updating on CommandBar & InspectorCommandBar
Buttons not changing when installing new build ! 
Matt Driver


Matt


Posts: 152
Joined: 2004-08-17
Hi

I have built my application with buttons on both an CommandBar and InspectorCommandBar for Outlook the toolbars are working fine installing and uninstalling correctly and the buttons appear. But if I change the caption for the buttons or the icon and rebuild the project the button changes do not occur.

I have the buttons are Enabled= TRUE, Visible = TRUE, Temporary = FALSE, Style = AdxMSoButtonIconAndCaption, State = adxMsoButtonUp and the images comming from an ImageList.

I have uninstaled and rebuilt but cannot get the changes to appear.

Is there anything I am missing.

Matt
Posted 31 Aug, 2004 09:24:23 Top
Sven Heitmann




Posts: 193
Joined: 2004-08-23
what id do they have?
Best regards,

Sven Heitmann
Posted 31 Aug, 2004 09:48:33 Top
Matt Driver


Matt


Posts: 152
Joined: 2004-08-17
If the ID is a field called FaceID they are all 0. Not sure where I am looking for the ID

Matt
Posted 31 Aug, 2004 10:09:26 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7187
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Matt,

Could you please send me your project or a sample project that shows the problem.
Posted 31 Aug, 2004 10:58:07 Top
Matt Driver


Matt


Posts: 152
Joined: 2004-08-17
I have just added a new button to the AdxCommandBar1 as the first will not display and the 2nd works fine. But the buttons now have stopped working on the AdxOlInspectorCommandBar1. After rebuilding again the new button on AdxCommandBar1 has stopped working. So the buttons work the first time the project is built then stop working.

Matt
Posted 31 Aug, 2004 11:44:29 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7187
Joined: 2004-07-05
Matt,

I haven't recieved your message with a sample project.
Have you sent something to me?
Posted 31 Aug, 2004 11:55:55 Top
Matt Driver


Matt


Posts: 152
Joined: 2004-08-17
Just sent it again to yourself and the private support address.

matt
Posted 31 Aug, 2004 11:58:34 Top
Matt Driver


Matt


Posts: 152
Joined: 2004-08-17
Kind of got a work around:

Install program using right click in .net and selecting install and buttons appear.

Uninstall using Add/Remove programs works fine

Install program using right click in .net and selecting install and buttons do not appear.

If I then remove add-in in Outlook and the uninstall using Add/Remove programs the uninstall works fine but a re-install then makes the buttons appear again.

Is it normal to have to manually remove the add-in in Outlook before doing the install ? I have the add-in selected under Uninstall under custom actions.

Matt
Posted 31 Aug, 2004 12:09:58 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7187
Joined: 2004-07-05
I have just added a new button to the AdxCommandBar1 as the first will not display and the 2nd works fine. But the buttons now have stopped working on the AdxOlInspectorCommandBar1. After rebuilding again the new button on AdxCommandBar1 has stopped working. So the buttons work the first time the project is built then stop working.


Matt,
When you set the Temporare property of AdxCommandBar to True you should set to True all controls in this command bar. The Temporare property of control can be set to False or True when a command bar is Temporary False.

Is it normal to have to manually remove the add-in in Outlook before doing the install ? I have the add-in selected under Uninstall under custom actions.

Yes, it is desirable. This behavior of Add-in Express .NET concerns Outlook only.
Posted 31 Aug, 2004 12:44:12 Top
Matt Driver


Matt


Posts: 152
Joined: 2004-08-17
Thx, got everything working reliably.
Posted 01 Sep, 2004 09:28:09 Top