Add Button To The Main Ribbon In Word

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Add Button To The Main Ribbon In Word
 
Shai Raiten




Posts: 46
Joined: 2008-01-29
Hello,

'm using Add-in Express Standard 2008. How can I add a button to the main ribbon?

Also I tried to add Quick Access ToolBar and it's not working.

THanks
Posted 18 Jan, 2009 01:17:32 Top
Eugene Astafiev


Add-in Express team


Posts: 8540
Joined: 2007-07-25
Hello Shai,

I have a bunch of questions for you:

1. What version and build number of Add-in Express do you use?
2. What OS do you use?
3. What Office version do you use?

.NET, Extended MAPI, Windows Phone & RT
Posted 19 Jan, 2009 12:43:24 Top
Shai Raiten




Posts: 46
Joined: 2008-01-29
Hi,

Thanks for the replay.

I'm Using Add-in Express 2008.
My OS is Vista and the add-in is writing for Office 2007/ 2003.

I know Ribbons are only for 2007.
Posted 19 Jan, 2009 14:38:17 Top
Eugene Astafiev


Add-in Express team


Posts: 8540
Joined: 2007-07-25
Hi Shai,

Also I tried to add Quick Access ToolBar and it's not working.


Did you set the Ribbons property?

How can I add a button to the main ribbon?


Sorry, I don't understand you. What do you mean by saying the main Ribbon?
.NET, Extended MAPI, Windows Phone & RT
Posted 19 Jan, 2009 14:46:47 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16991
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hi Shai,

Please note that Add-in Express provides three Ribbon-related components that allow adding custom controls to the Ribbon UI:
- ADXRibbonTab
- ADXRibbonOfficeMenu
- ADXRibbonQuickAccessToolbar

That is, you use ADXRibbonTab to create a custom Ribbon tab, ADXRibbonOfficeMenu allows adding custom items to the Office Menu, and ADXRibbonQuickAccessToolbar allows adding custom items to the Quick Access Toolbar. Note that the third one is almost useless because Microsoft requires using it with the StartFromScratch parameter. And this parameter clears all built-in tabs and Office menu items.

Also note that ADXRibbonTab allows you to add a custom group to a built-in Ribbon tab. To do this, you must know the ID of that built-in tab. IDs of all Ribbon controls are available at http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=4329d9e9-4d11-46a5-898d-23e4f331e9ae&DisplayLang=en

Just to complete the description, I have to add that Add-in Express also provides the ADXRibbonCommand component which allows intercepting actions of built-in Ribbon controls.

HTH,

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader

Posted 20 Jan, 2009 11:11:07 Top
Shai Raiten




Posts: 46
Joined: 2008-01-29
Hi,

Thanks for the replay.

I'm trying to add a new group (not a new ribbon tab) in the TabHome.
TabHome id is - 11954.

I create a new Ribbon, inside the Ribbon I have create a new group with a button.

Selecting the new group and insert under the property window IdMso = 11954

And I can't see my group or button, please help me.

Thanks
Posted 20 Jan, 2009 13:35:59 Top
Eugene Astafiev


Add-in Express team


Posts: 8540
Joined: 2007-07-25
Hi Shai,

Just set the IdMso property of the AddinExpress.MSO.ADXRibbonTab class to the TabHome value.
.NET, Extended MAPI, Windows Phone & RT
Posted 21 Jan, 2009 08:54:27 Top