Addon Not available

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Addon Not available
Why my IE Addon, & Office Addon flagged with Not Available  
Yaron Avital




Posts: 22
Joined: 2011-12-01
Hi,

We have both IE-Addons & Office,
For some reason sometimes my Addon is "not available" via Manage Addons, yes it is ENABLED
I'm sure it is not related to unhandled exceptions.
the only solution i found in case of IE (i'm using IE9)is to turn off "Enable Protected Mode",
then restarting IE loads my Add-in prefectly even if i turn "Enable Protected Mode" back ON.
My add-in is signed if it's matters.

So i guess my question is: why IE / Office decides my add-in is not available?
Posted 06 Mar, 2012 06:50:47 Top
Eugene Astafiev


Add-in Express team


Posts: 8540
Joined: 2007-07-25
Hi Yaron,

Did you have a chance to look at the adxregistrator.log and adxloader.log files on the problematic PC? May I see these log files?
.NET, Extended MAPI, Windows Phone & RT
Posted 06 Mar, 2012 07:30:00 Top
Yaron Avital




Posts: 22
Joined: 2011-12-01
Hi Eugene,

you can download the logs from here

http://trialFiles.Diffdoof.com/diffdoof.clearmash/ClearMash.IEAddon.log
Posted 06 Mar, 2012 07:42:14 Top
Eugene Astafiev


Add-in Express team


Posts: 8540
Joined: 2007-07-25
Hi Yaron,

Thank you for providing me with the log file. The cause of the issue is obvious to me :-)

Please see the following entries in the adxregistrator.log file:

Process Owner: System
...
Integrity Level: System


You can read more about this in the similar forum thread. Is this the case?
.NET, Extended MAPI, Windows Phone & RT
Posted 06 Mar, 2012 08:02:17 Top
Yaron Avital




Posts: 22
Joined: 2011-12-01
I carefully read what Andrei wrote,

from what i understand, i need to register all my add-ons with runasinvoker=true (we always install them per-machine)

In order for the registry keys be written as Administrator and not as System

Am i correct?
Posted 06 Mar, 2012 08:40:15 Top
Eugene Astafiev


Add-in Express team


Posts: 8540
Joined: 2007-07-25
Hi Yaron,

Exactly! Please let me know whether it helps.
.NET, Extended MAPI, Windows Phone & RT
Posted 06 Mar, 2012 09:00:00 Top
Yaron Avital




Posts: 22
Joined: 2011-12-01
Hi Eugene,


I've tried running the registration with runasinvoker=true,

unfortunately, it did not had any impact (you can view the log)


http://trialfiles.diffdoof.com/diffdoof.clearmash/ClearMash.IEAddon2.log

anything else i'm missing?

My MSI itself is not signed, is it got to do with that somehow?
Posted 06 Mar, 2012 10:17:43 Top
Eugene Astafiev


Add-in Express team


Posts: 8540
Joined: 2007-07-25
Hi Yaron,

Thank you for providing me with the log file. But I still see the following entries:

Process Owner: System
...
Integrity Level: System


Am I right?
.NET, Extended MAPI, Windows Phone & RT
Posted 06 Mar, 2012 10:23:11 Top
Yaron Avital




Posts: 22
Joined: 2011-12-01
Yes,

But as you can see in the log i used /runasinvoker=true

isn't what is suppose to affect?
Posted 07 Mar, 2012 01:52:12 Top
Eugene Astafiev


Add-in Express team


Posts: 8540
Joined: 2007-07-25
Hi Yaron,

Yes, it should help. Let's find the cause of the issue. Please try to reproduce the issue with a newly created add-on project. Does it work as expected? Is the UAC enabled in Windows Vista?
.NET, Extended MAPI, Windows Phone & RT
Posted 07 Mar, 2012 03:29:04 Top