Can't create setup project

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Can't create setup project
Cannot load assembly Microsoft.xrm.sdk 
Subscribe
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16098
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Dan,

Dan Rasmussen writes:
It even seems to install the update all the way


What do you mean by this? Can you provide details?

Dan Rasmussen writes:
Should I update UpgradeCode property? I don't right now.


No, you shouldn't.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 12 Mar, 2019 05:00:37 Top
Dan Rasmussen




Posts: 44
Joined: 2010-03-31
Ok, let's do a walkthrough

I start Outlook 2016 and my addin loads fine, now running version 0.9.22
User added an image

Then i get a popup from the statusbar that a new version is available (0.9.23)
User added an image

I click it and it shown the update form
User added an image

It starts downloading the update
User added an image
And the MSI
User added an image

After installing update it warns that Outlook is running
User added an image

I close Outlook and update finishes it's job. When I start Outlook again it loads the addin fine, but it's still running version 0.9.22 - and update popup in statusbar still shows. It seems it didn't install the update after all.
Posted 12 Mar, 2019 05:15:59 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16098
Joined: 2006-05-11
Thank you, Dan.

What Office version are you using? Could you please open File | Account and provide a screenshot showing all the details to the right of the About Excel button.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 12 Mar, 2019 05:33:23 Top
Dan Rasmussen




Posts: 44
Joined: 2010-03-31
It's Outlook...
User added an image
User added an image
Posted 12 Mar, 2019 05:54:11 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16098
Joined: 2006-05-11
Dan,

Have you changed the version of the add-in? Of the MSI?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 12 Mar, 2019 09:35:04 Top
Dan Rasmussen




Posts: 44
Joined: 2010-03-31
Yes. I do this... Change the assemblyversion og the addin
User added an image

Then build and change version on setup project
User added an image

Then I navigate to the publish page
User added an image

and publish
User added an image

Then I delete old version folder and zip the whole thing
User added an image

Copy to webserver and unzip... and that version is now available.
Posted 12 Mar, 2019 10:22:09 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16098
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Dan,

It looks like you don't say something; probably, because we don't ask it.

Could you please send us a sample demonstrating the issue?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 13 Mar, 2019 04:25:19 Top
Dan Rasmussen




Posts: 44
Joined: 2010-03-31
I'm zipping the whole project and cleaning up files, will send you link for download.
Posted 13 Mar, 2019 05:31:32 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16098
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Dan,

I’ve used the information stored in version_info to start the downloader for you 0.9.22 (the last one is 0.9.23). I found out that your setup project is intended for a per-machine installation while the add-in module and the manifest describe a per-user add-in; in addition there’re no custom actions in the setup project. I suggest that you check section Deploying a per-user Office extension via an MSI installer, see the PDF file in the folder {Add-in Express}\Docs on your development PC.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 13 Mar, 2019 07:36:29 Top
Dan Rasmussen




Posts: 44
Joined: 2010-03-31
That I don't understand, when I look in my setup project it's set not to install for all users.
User added an image

And I wrote earlier in this thread that I don't have any Custom Actions anywhere in the setup project, how do I add those? Maybe my setup project is of the wrong type. The original problem being that I get an error when trying to create setup project via the Add-in Express menu.
Posted 14 Mar, 2019 04:40:39 Top