Outlook Add-ins for clipboard enhancement

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Outlook Add-ins for clipboard enhancement
 
George Robinson




Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-10-20
Yes, I checked it and MS-Word is responsible :/

Better yet!
MS-Word sometimes converts the pasted image to JPEG and sometimes to GIF.
Apparently this depends on image contents :/

Unfortunately this promising setting has no effect in MS-Word:
Format Picture... / Picture tab / Compress... button / Compress Picture checkbox.

Thus there is no way to control this behavior, so MS-Word editor is useless for sending inline screenshots via Outlook emails :/


May be it's a conspiracy of some kind ? ;)

Regards,
George
Posted 22 Oct, 2010 04:50:08 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14129
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hi George,

George Robinson wrote:
May be it's a conspiracy of some kind ? ;)


Of course. :)

I'd check if inserting the picture via the IncludePicture field makes any difference. And VBA, there may exist some properties/parameters that influence the result.

BTW, what Word version are you using? Is the latest SP installed on it?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 22 Oct, 2010 05:35:46 Top
George Robinson




Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-10-20
I tried this on MS-Word 2000 and MS-Word 2002 with the latest Service Packs.

I have 2003, 2007 and 2010 versions of Office, but I don't want to install them. Maybe I'll try when I figure out how to disable these God awful ribbons and replace them with normal menus. ;/

I Googled that the 2010 version respects the compression settings better.
There is even a global "compression" settings in the Options menu, that affects images in all documents.

Apparently somebody in MS listened to people complaining about these willful file conversions.

Nonetheless, I still don't have a way of sending screenshots via Outlook 2000/2002 conveniently and efficiently. When using MS-Word as the Email Editor, the willful conversion to JPEG totally messes them up :/

Just ranting...
Posted 22 Oct, 2010 07:03:55 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14129
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hi George,

George Robinson wrote:
I have 2003, 2007 and 2010 versions of Office, but I don't want to install them


I wonder if you have both Word 2000 and 2002 installed on the same system. This configuration isn't recommended by Microsoft and I believe this may spoil the results you are having.

George Robinson wrote:
Maybe I'll try when I figure out how to disable these God awful ribbons and replace them with normal menus.


There's no such way. I met an add-in imitating commandbars in custom Ribbon tab(s).

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 22 Oct, 2010 08:36:59 Top
George Robinson




Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-10-20
Dear Andrei,

Oh, no I would not do that!
I use Office 2002 at home and my company uses Office 2000 because they are too cheap to upgrade its 400 users. That's why I am primarily interested in these two versions.

I installed Office 2007 in a virtual machine for testing so it would not pollute my system with bloatware ;/
The size, ribbons and incompatible *.???x files disgusted me.
In the end I deleted the whole machine.

There was something bad about Office 2003 too, but I don't remember what.
Maybe the files it created were bigger or the UI was bad (I really don't like underlined hyperlinks in any UI).
It was long ago. Maybe I should give it a 2nd chance?

I wonder if you have both Word 2000 and 2002 installed on the same system. This configuration isn't recommended by Microsoft and I believe this may spoil the results you are having.


Regards,
George
Posted 22 Oct, 2010 09:20:37 Top
George Robinson




Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-10-20
One of these?

http://addintools.com/office2010/professionalplus/index.html
http://www.ubit.ch/software/ubitmenu-for-outlook/
http://www.ubit.ch/software/ubitmenu-languages/

What do you think of them? Are they your customers?

There's no such way. I met an add-in imitating commandbars in custom Ribbon tab(s).

George Robinson wrote:
Maybe I'll try when I figure out how to disable these God awful ribbons and replace them with normal menus.
Posted 22 Oct, 2010 11:51:10 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14129
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hi George,

I'm afraid, I don't know anything about them. Sorry.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 22 Oct, 2010 12:58:34 Top