Unable to open broker pipe.

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Unable to open broker pipe.
 
Subscribe
zipi sompo




Posts: 123
Joined: 2013-09-03
Hi,
I use Designer for WiX toolset.
I right click on my IEAddon project and press Add-in Express->create setup project.
until I installed the latest build the setup project after build create me 3 files:
1. XX.msi
2. XX.wixpdb
3. setup.exe

After I installed the latest build, it create only the msi and wixpdb.
my problem is that I can not run the msi as administrator and if I run it not as administrator the
IEADdon does not appear..
Posted 26 Jul, 2017 01:01:37 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14129
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Zipi,

I've reproduced the issue. For me, the corresponding .wixProj file contains two GenerateBootstrapper elements that are commented out for some reason. I closed the solution, uncommented these elements, reopened the solution and built the project: this generates a setup.exe for me.

This issue is filed down under #11035 in our issue-tracking DB. You'll find this number in whatsnew.txt when the issue is fixed.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 26 Jul, 2017 06:56:10 Top
zipi sompo




Posts: 123
Joined: 2013-09-03
I did what you wrote.
but when I build the setup project I get the following error:

Could not find required file 'setup.bin' in '\..\ Projects\AW_OfficeDocuments\AW_BrowserListener\AW_BrowserListenerSetup\2.1.0\Engine'
Posted 26 Jul, 2017 07:30:14 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14129
Joined: 2006-05-11
Did you switch to another Visual Studio version recently?

I would try to open the .wixproj file from any previous add-in version and copy the GenerateBootstrapper elements to the new project.

zipi sompo writes:
I use Designer for WiX toolset.


You can simply select the WiX project in Solution Explorer, click the Prerequisites property on the Properties window and specify creating setup.exe and choose prerequisites to be installed. Does this fix the issue?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 26 Jul, 2017 07:47:15 Top
zipi sompo




Posts: 123
Joined: 2013-09-03
'click the Prerequisites property on the Properties window':
Where is it?!
I can not find Prerequisites in Properties ?!?!
I need your answer Urgently because at the moment I have no possibility of create setup
Posted 26 Jul, 2017 23:48:27 Top
zipi sompo




Posts: 123
Joined: 2013-09-03
I didn't switch to another Visual Studio version recently.
I work with Visual Studio 2012.
On my machine there is also Visual Studio 2015.
But my project on Visual Studio 2012.
Posted 26 Jul, 2017 23:59:59 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14129
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Zipi,

zipi sompo writes:
Where is it?!


In my VS 2010 I have Designer for Visual Studio WiX Setup Projects listed in menu Help | About. This allows me to select a WIX setup project and get the following properties in the Properties window:

User added an image

Does this work for you?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 27 Jul, 2017 05:10:09 Top
zipi sompo




Posts: 123
Joined: 2013-09-03
I'm using VS 2010.
I can not find the properties window.
Posted 30 Jul, 2017 02:17:29 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14129
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Zipi,

Menu View | Properties Window.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 31 Jul, 2017 03:54:30 Top
zipi sompo




Posts: 123
Joined: 2013-09-03
I am sorry.
I mean VS 2012...
Posted 31 Jul, 2017 06:48:18 Top