upgrade problem...

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

upgrade problem...
 
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7187
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Chen,

Do you get the same error if you create a new add-in project?
Posted 28 Jan, 2015 06:41:32 Top
grchen168




Posts: 38
Joined: 2014-09-03
Yes, when I create a new add-in project, the same error pop up.

BTW, if I uninstall v9, and then install v8, then no error pop up (either for existing add-in project or new add-in project). But I wish I can use the latest (v9) add-in component.
Posted 28 Jan, 2015 08:48:27 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7187
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Chen,

At the moment I am trying to reproduce the issue. I will try to find a solution as soon as possible.
Posted 28 Jan, 2015 10:54:53 Top
grchen168




Posts: 38
Joined: 2014-09-03
One more info, HTH:
While installed with v9, when launching VS 2008 Pro, ADXIE product name not listed in the VS initial splash screen.
But for v8 installed, ADXIE product name is listed in the VS initial splash screen.
Posted 28 Jan, 2015 17:50:51 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7187
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Chen,

I am going to setup a VPC. What the operating system do you use?
Posted 29 Jan, 2015 04:57:16 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7187
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Chen,

Please open the registry key below in regedit.exe and set the 'ProductVersion' variable to '8.0'. Then run Visual Studio 2008 again. Let me know if the issue still exists.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\VisualStudio\9.0\Packages\{5553163E-0342-415F-BB96-6068F4F44CA7}
Posted 29 Jan, 2015 09:28:33 Top
grchen168




Posts: 38
Joined: 2014-09-03
Win 7 sp1, 64bit,

The registry path you mentioned does not exist, instead, I found it under HKCU, not HKLM.
But, after adding what you said 'ProductVersion' (and value '8.0'), problem still exist. :<
Posted 29 Jan, 2015 17:25:30 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7187
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Chen,

In 64bit, you need to open the same key but under 'Wow6432Node':

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\VisualStudio\9.0\Packages\{5553163E-0342-415F-BB96-6068F4F44CA7}

Also, you don't need to add the variable (it should exist). You just need to modify it.
Posted 30 Jan, 2015 03:44:10 Top
grchen168




Posts: 38
Joined: 2014-09-03
After following your steps, it now does not show the error dialog neither for opening existing add-in projects nor creating new add-in projects. Thank you.
But, the initial VS2008 splash dialog still does not list your ADXIE product name. Is that OK with no further side-effect? Should I ignore it?
Posted 30 Jan, 2015 04:27:07 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7187
Joined: 2004-07-05
Please try to execute the command line below via Command Prompt run 'As Administrator'. It should help.

"c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\Common7\IDE\devenv.exe" /setup
Posted 30 Jan, 2015 05:06:15 Top