[issue]when uninstalling addin commandbars are not removed

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

[issue]when uninstalling addin commandbars are not removed
 
Sven Heitmann




Posts: 193
Joined: 2004-08-23
hi

is there a "guide" how to remove an adxaddin from office?
i have noticed that uninstalling will not delete the commandbars...

however when i disable the addin in the application and then uninstall it its working fine...

best regards
sven
Best regards,

Sven Heitmann
Posted 20 Sep, 2004 11:00:24 Top
Eugene Starostin


ADX Team
Add-in Express team


Posts: 430
Joined: 2004-04-05
Hi Sven,

We will add this to ADX DevGuide. But usually you just uninstall an add-in via Control Panel.

Or do you mean the case with two add-ins in an assembly?
Posted 21 Sep, 2004 08:25:30 Top
Sven Heitmann




Posts: 193
Joined: 2004-08-23
What I meant was a typical way...

When I want to update my AddIn I usually uninstall the AddIn and Install the new Version.
But the Commandbars are not removed sometimes.

Installation and Uninstallation of my Assembly with the 2 AddIns is working fine... as far as I know ;)

I've added the custom actions for each AddIn Module.
Best regards,

Sven Heitmann
Posted 21 Sep, 2004 09:30:56 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7187
Joined: 2004-07-05
We had a similar situation while working with MS Word.
Then we found a hung instance of Word in Task Manager.
Can you look up, probably you have the same.
Posted 21 Sep, 2004 10:08:37 Top
Sven Heitmann




Posts: 193
Joined: 2004-08-23
Hm... I know I do not use Marshal.ReleaseCOMObject very often, can that cause such a hanging instance of Word too?
Best regards,

Sven Heitmann
Posted 21 Sep, 2004 10:30:04 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7187
Joined: 2004-07-05
It may be one of possible causes.
In any case if this situation arises again you can send me your project and I will try to test it.
Posted 21 Sep, 2004 10:41:04 Top
Andrew Peters


Guest


I don't know how many people are aware of it, but Microsoft recommends using a C++ shim (proxy class) so that managed code addins have their own app domain. One writer likens it to a public swimming pool where everyone is allowed to mix and rules are posted but not enforced. Since you can't be certain other addins a user may install are not ReleaseCOMObject-ing this seems to be the best insurance against other addins malfunctioning or other things that are unexplainable otherwise.

So, in short, my hope is that the addin express product will get native shim support added so that we can put together robust solutions for office apps.

Andrew Peters
Chatham Financial Corp.
Posted 30 Sep, 2004 12:18:44 Top
Eugene Starostin


ADX Team
Add-in Express team


Posts: 430
Joined: 2004-04-05
Andrew,

As I answered you via e-mail we will add this feature to the next premium build after version 2.1. This update will get all our premium subscribers (and you unconditionally).
Posted 30 Sep, 2004 12:25:32 Top
Sven Heitmann




Posts: 193
Joined: 2004-08-23
As I answered you via e-mail we will add this feature to the next premium build after version 2.1. This update will get all our premium subscribers (and you unconditionally).


Great news. :)

Before I used ADX I used Microsoft XML Tools as a Reference for an AddIn.
Unfortunately it releases the Application Object of Word, when deactivate it... so my other Addin could not work anymore (until next restart of Word).

So I really appreciate this feature =)

However I hope you will find a solution where we don't have to recompile the Shim... I don't have Visual C++ .net :/
Best regards,

Sven Heitmann
Posted 30 Sep, 2004 23:17:27 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7187
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi,

certainly we will try to find a proper solution to use Shim with ADX.
Posted 01 Oct, 2004 05:18:47 Top