Remove button from custum adxRibbonTab/adxRibbonGroup

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Remove button from custum adxRibbonTab/adxRibbonGroup
 
wehbi




Posts: 73
Joined: 2013-10-31
Hi,

I created a custom adxRibbonTab with the IdMso -> 'TabMail' on Ribbons -> 'OutlookExplorer'. The tab contains an adxRibbonGroup which contains 4 adxRibbonButtons.
What I'm trying is to hide one or more buttons while Outlook is running, but it won't work with the 'Visible' flag. The 'Enable' flag is working without any problems, but I want them invisible.
Is there a way to get the 'Visible' flag working?

Thanks, and kind regards,
Birger
Posted 27 Nov, 2019 06:06:56 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 17306
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Birger,

Please check whether setting ADXRibbonButton.Visible=false works for you if invoking that code in the Click event of a test Ribbon button.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 27 Nov, 2019 07:09:34 Top
wehbi




Posts: 73
Joined: 2013-10-31
Hi Adrei,

I've tried - it's not working even in the click event handler itself.
Any other ideas?

Thanks and regards,
Birger
Posted 27 Nov, 2019 07:34:19 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 17306
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Birger,

Could you please send me that bit of code? Also, I'd need to see the declarations and settings of these buttons; see the InitializeComponent method of the add-in module.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 27 Nov, 2019 09:10:21 Top
wehbi




Posts: 73
Joined: 2013-10-31
Hello Andrei,

I will do a partial rebuild of the project and try to reproduce the behavior. I will then either send you the implementation or try to investigate what’s wrong with the main project.
Will get in touch with you soon.

Regards,
Birger
Posted 28 Nov, 2019 02:07:53 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 17306
Joined: 2006-05-11
No problem.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 28 Nov, 2019 05:41:47 Top
wehbi




Posts: 73
Joined: 2013-10-31
Hi Andrei,

I did a rebuild of the button structure in a clean project and switching the button to invisible was no problem. What I did then was deleting the button structure of the main project and did the exact rebuild of the test project. As soon as I was trying to hide the button in the main project context, it was not working anymore.

Thanks in advance,
Birger
Posted 03 Dec, 2019 08:02:42 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 17306
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Birger,

Could you please send me the test project and instruction on how to reproduce the issue? Please find the support email address in {Add-in Express installation folder}\readme.txt; make sure your email contains a link to this topic.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 03 Dec, 2019 08:07:22 Top
wehbi




Posts: 73
Joined: 2013-10-31
Unfortunately I can not share code due an NDA. The issue is only reproducible in the main/commercial project, when I create a new clean project, I'm not able to reproduce the issue. Is it possible, the issue is caused because the main project was created a few years ago (2014)?
Posted 03 Dec, 2019 08:44:20 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 17306
Joined: 2006-05-11
wehbi writes:
Is it possible, the issue is caused because the main project was created a few years ago (2014)?


I don't know. I suggest that you create a copy of your project and cut out the things that don't relate to these Ribbon buttons. Also, you can remove (replace) any sensitive information. If this can help, we are ready to sign any reasonable NDA.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 03 Dec, 2019 08:55:43 Top