Parameter is not valid for ClickTwice IE Installer

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Parameter is not valid for ClickTwice IE Installer
 
George Stavrev




Posts: 17
Joined: 2011-06-30
Hi there,

Created an IE Project that works well and then proceeded to try the ClickTwice Installer. It works great in Windows 7, but when I try it Windows XP, I get the error, "Parameter is not valid", from the small file that gets published (the one that fetches when the rest). It happens right when it starts, after I grant permission to it. It had a different error before, but I was able to solve it by installing the .net 2.0 framework.

Has anyone encountered this before? I am using Add In Express for IE, on Visual Studio 2010. I am on a 64 bit Windows 7 machine. Ran through the 3 part tutorial that is on this website.

Thanks.

-George

User added an image

This is what flashes for a second after I click Ok, then it closes.

User added an image

Edit: I tried it with .Net framework 3.5 and then with 4 on the same windows machine. Error remains. If I run the .msi file instead of the .exe, that runs fine, but as far as I was able to understand, if I don't run the .exe file the updating will not work?

Edit2: I was able to replicate the same error on Windows Vista. Perhaps there is something wrong with the publishing I am going through, it seems pretty simple? I am following the tutorial pretty closely.
Posted 14 Jul, 2011 16:45:48 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7224
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi George,

What is the Target Framework of your project? Did you include any prerequisites in the Publish wizard?
Posted 15 Jul, 2011 05:32:06 Top
George Stavrev




Posts: 17
Joined: 2011-06-30
Sergey,

I did not include any prerequisites in the ADX publish wizard. My project targets the .net 2 framework. Should I be including any? Its a very simple IE project that injects a script onDocumentComplete. Again, the .msi files generated by the setup project installs fine, just the first smaller file generates an error.
Posted 15 Jul, 2011 12:52:47 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7224
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi George,

I can't reproduce the error.
Did you install all the latest updates and service packs on WinXP?
Please send me a sample project. I will test it.
Posted 18 Jul, 2011 12:31:26 Top
George Stavrev




Posts: 17
Joined: 2011-06-30
Certainly. I will package one up and get it to you. In the meantime, this is the link to the executable that was built. It works on windows 7 machines, but not on others.

http://dev-unsubscriber.unsubscribe.com/ext/ie/1033/1.0.3/unsub2managed.exe
Posted 18 Jul, 2011 12:39:24 Top
George Stavrev




Posts: 17
Joined: 2011-06-30
I sent it to the support email, I hope that is the correct way of reaching you.
Posted 18 Jul, 2011 12:50:27 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7224
Joined: 2004-07-05
George, what version of Add-in Express do you use?
Posted 18 Jul, 2011 12:55:34 Top
George Stavrev




Posts: 17
Joined: 2011-06-30
I am not exactly sure how to check that Sergey. From the whats new file, I see the following:

It is Add In Express for Internet Explorer.

- Version 7.1 Release (build 4102)
- Version 7.0 Release (build 4101)

from the AddInExpress.IE reference in my project I see 7.1.4102.0 as the version. I downloaded the product about a week or so ago.
Posted 18 Jul, 2011 12:59:52 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7224
Joined: 2004-07-05
George, I think that the cause of the issue is in the 'Publishing location' and 'Installation URL' fields of the Publish wizard. Please check them. Most likely you publish the project to one location and then upload it to the server from another location. I nothiced that two versions of the project were published to '.\Publish\' and latest version to the 'C:\UnsubscribeTest'.
Posted 18 Jul, 2011 13:42:25 Top
George Stavrev




Posts: 17
Joined: 2011-06-30
Yes Sergey, I was changing those to try different things. Originally they were all set to '.\Publish\'. I have made sure that the publish location is consistent. I got a different error when there was nothing on the publish location. Any other ideas? Were you able to build it on your end successfully for Windows XP?
Posted 18 Jul, 2011 13:47:48 Top