AddOn only works when Run as Admin

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

AddOn only works when Run as Admin
 
tomek domek




Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-12-27
Hello everybody,

I am having a really headache because of my problem with my IE AddOn.

So I go over a manually Setu Project and follow your instructions with.

Basically it is working but I have to run the IE as an administrator. If I run as without running as admin the IE is hanging and nothing is happening.

As admin I see the AddOn and everything works fine.
Posted 27 Dec, 2010 12:43:04 Top
tomek domek




Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-12-27
Maybe I put some more information to that.

So I fugured now it works when the Protected Mode is disabled. Otherwise if it is enabled I can run it only as an admin. What my PluginIn does is that it sends the HTTP Response from a site to a client apllictaion, which is using it.
I cant expect the users before the install the setup its the AddOn plus the Clientapplictaion to Disable the Protected mode or?
Posted 27 Dec, 2010 15:52:28 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7202
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Tomek.

Where did you add the code that sends the respose?
Please try to use the try ... catch statement. Probably you get any exceptions while IE starts.
Posted 28 Dec, 2010 07:06:04 Top
tomek domek




Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-12-27
Well I have to correct myself. Enabling and Disabling IE makes no difference.

I have a setup project what makes the client application installation and of course the IE AddIn Installation. Only when I run the setup.exe as an Adminsitrator for only for me the plugin is registered or any logfile fr om the adxloader written. Otherwise nothing is written.
Wh ere should I put a try catch?
Thanx
Thomas
Posted 28 Dec, 2010 11:14:47 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7202
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Thomas.

Ok, I understand now. The fact is that, IE add-ons are registered in 'HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\explorer\Browser Helper Objects' registry key. That is why you should install IE add-ons with elevated privileges.
Posted 29 Dec, 2010 06:57:21 Top
tomek domek




Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-12-27
Ok but if I run the setup as a standarduser (logged as admin) the UAC promt should jump up and ask me and if I want to proceed. BTW when I install it just for one user as administrator I cant find the reg entry but the addon is visible and works in ie.
Posted 29 Dec, 2010 12:10:28 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7202
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Tomek.

Wat version of Visual Studio did you use to create the setup project?
Posted 03 Jan, 2011 08:44:27 Top
tomek domek




Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-12-27
Hi I am using VS 2010. .NET 3.5
I also have problems with deinstalling the AddOn it is not gettin removed:-(
Posted 03 Jan, 2011 18:24:18 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7202
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Tomek.

Please check if the 'RequiresElevation' tag in set to TRUE in the setup script. It can be done in any text editor.

I also have problems with deinstalling the AddOn it is not gettin removed

Does the adxregistrator.log contain any errors?
Posted 04 Jan, 2011 04:33:48 Top
tomek domek




Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-12-27
Hi Sergey

No the log has no entries and where do I find the setup script?
Posted 04 Jan, 2011 12:29:53 Top