Cannot hit breakpoints in vs2010

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Cannot hit breakpoints in vs2010
Haven't been able to hit any breakpoints in vs2010 on 2 separate machines 
Brett Lefebvre




Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-07-13
I followed the how to video step by step. Using Update 2 2010.6.2.373 in vs2010 I am unable to hit breakpoints. Any suggestions would be great.
Posted 13 Jul, 2010 20:24:45 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 15280
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hi Brett,

Please see Unable to debug.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 14 Jul, 2010 01:32:36 Top
Brett Lefebvre




Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-07-13
There is no Host Configuration option when I right-click the design surface of the add-in module. That post was for an Outlook add-in and this is for an IE add-in. I should also mention that debugging works fine in vs2008.
Posted 14 Jul, 2010 11:53:57 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 15280
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hi Brett,

Let's try to bypass this: download http://www.add-in-express.com/files/support/configs.zip, unpack the files, choose the one for the correct .NET Framework version, rename it to iexplore.exe.config and copy to {Program Files}\Internet Explorer. Does this work?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 14 Jul, 2010 12:07:33 Top
Brett Lefebvre




Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-07-13
We are half way there. No breakpoints are hit when I start debugging from Visual Studio, but if I start IE and then attach to the process it works.
Posted 14 Jul, 2010 12:21:48 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 15280
Joined: 2006-05-11
Brett,

Is it a 64-bit version of IE?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 14 Jul, 2010 12:34:44 Top
Brett Lefebvre




Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-07-13
I'm on 64 bit. I have visual studio set to start c:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe.
Posted 14 Jul, 2010 12:47:56 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 15280
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hi Brett,

What .NET Framework version are you using?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 15 Jul, 2010 06:24:32 Top
Brett Lefebvre




Posts: 10
Joined: 2010-07-13
version 4
Posted 15 Jul, 2010 10:09:49 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7205
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Brett.

... but if I start IE and then attach to the process it works.

Yes, right. You need to use 'Attach to Process' to debug add-ons running under IE8.
Posted 16 Jul, 2010 03:25:17 Top