replace Dial Contact command (popup) in Outlook

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

replace Dial Contact command (popup) in Outlook
 
Chris Stone




Posts: 15
Joined: 2009-04-08
Trying to replace the Outlook Dial Contact function with my own. The Dial option is on the Context menu and toolbar (ribbon bar) and also has sub functions for New Call, option for each phone number for the selected contact, etc. I have been successful replacing all except the upper level Dial option on the popup. Best I can tell, using the scanner, it's ID 30173 or 15185, but can get neither to work - also tried 2616 and 568 (from a previous post I found here).

Am running Delphi 6 and Add-In-Express 2009 (latest).

Suggestions?


Regards,

Chris Stone, MCSE
AxisInternet, Inc.
Posted 04 May, 2011 14:15:31 Top
Dmitry Kostochko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 2839
Joined: 2004-04-05
Hi Chris,

As far as I see IDs 2616 and 568 are from Outlook 2003. But I cannot find 30173 or 15185 that you mentioned. What Outlook version do you use?
Posted 05 May, 2011 05:12:13 Top
Chris Stone




Posts: 15
Joined: 2009-04-08
Dmitry,

Am using Outlook 2010 in particular, but want this to work for 2003 as well, and in the same way, it's not.

Please see these screen shots which show the Scanner results regarding this for both Outlook 2003 and 2010. In both, the 30173 id is shown for Call.

http://apache1.axint.net/stuff/outlook2003-scanner-results.png
http://apache1.axint.net/stuff/outlook2010-scanner-results.png

The 15185 id I got from an Outlook 2010 Excel spreadsheet of IDs I got via a link on another forum message here.

Using the ids 2501 in both, 32768 in Outlook 2010, and 746 in Outlook 2003, I am able to override the native Outlook functions for my own and it's working great. The issue seems to only be with the Call function using the id 30173.

Thanks!


Regards,

Chris Stone, MCSE
AxisInternet, Inc.
Posted 05 May, 2011 11:17:02 Top
Dmitry Kostochko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 2839
Joined: 2004-04-05
Hi Chris,

Thank you for explanation.

Id 30173 on your screenshots is a popup control. It is not a button control, it does not have any events, so how are you going to intercept it? Do you need to hide it? Please clarify.
Posted 05 May, 2011 12:34:56 Top
Chris Stone




Posts: 15
Joined: 2009-04-08
Dmitry,


I did notice that, but if I click Call in Outlook, it does bring up the Outlook Call dialog. I also opens up the sub-menu - kind-of dual function. So, I don't want to hide it really, just want it not to bring up the native Outlook Call dialog - either mine or none at all.

Make sense?


Thanks!


Regards,

Chris Stone, MCSE
AxisInternet, Inc.
Posted 05 May, 2011 13:02:59 Top
Dmitry Kostochko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 2839
Joined: 2004-04-05
Hi Chris,

In fact, I'm a bit confused. On your screenshots a popup control is clearly shown, which does not have events at all. Please have a look at the following MSDN page:
CommandBarPopup Object

Did you mean some other control in your last post, not Id 30173? Please specify exactly which one.
Posted 06 May, 2011 05:29:17 Top
Chris Stone




Posts: 15
Joined: 2009-04-08
Dmitry,

Yes, I do mean ID 30173, and I do see that the referenced URL shows no events. However, I can confidently say that if I run Outlook 2010 and click that Call 'popup/button - or whatever it is', it calls the Outlook native Call function. If I click the arrow on that popup/button, then it shows the sub-menu items.

So while Microsoft is not showing any events there in those docs - at least for Outlook 2003, under Outlook 2010, that button (popup) has an event.


Thanks.


Regards,

Chris Stone, MCSE
AxisInternet, Inc.
Posted 06 May, 2011 12:16:10 Top
Dmitry Kostochko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 2839
Joined: 2004-04-05
Hi Chris,

Thank you for the details. As you probably know, command bar controls are not used in Outlook 2010 anymore, this version has the Fluent Ribbon user interface with its own IDs. Command bar controls are supported for compatibility purposes only. So, Outlook 2010 control that you mention most likely is not a command bar control at all.

You can find lists of Office 2010 control IDs here:
Office 2010 Help Files: Office Fluent User Interface Control Identifiers

Could you please show me what exactly control you need to intercept in Outlook 2010 (a screenshot will be very helpful), I will look through the above lists and let you know if Microsoft allows intercepting it.
Posted 06 May, 2011 12:48:50 Top
Chris Stone




Posts: 15
Joined: 2009-04-08
Dmitry,

These screenshots show the different Call options in Outlook I am trying to intercept. It is the option labeled 'Call'. The other options in the menu listed off of the 'Call' option I am able to intercept.

Outlook 2010 Call 1
Outlook 2010 Call 2
Outlook 2010 Call 3

Clicking the 'Call' option in all of the above, brings up the Microsoft dialog:

Outlook 2010 - Microsoft call dialog

Clicking the 'Call ######' options or the 'Redial -> Call #####', or the 'New Call' options off of the 'Call' option bring up my addin's dialog:

Outlook 2010 - My addin's call dialog

Thanks


Regards,

Chris Stone, MCSE
AxisInternet, Inc.
Posted 06 May, 2011 14:11:08 Top
Dmitry Kostochko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 2839
Joined: 2004-04-05
Hi Chris,

Thank you for the details. I have just found a way to intercept clicking on the Call button in Outlook 2010. Please try to do the following:
1. Add a new TadxRibbonCommand component onto your add-in module.
2. Set the IdMso property to Call.
3. Set the Ribbons property to [msrOutlookExplorer].
4. Handle the OnAction event and use the Cancel parameter to prevent the native dialog box from showing.

Using this approach you will be able to intercept clicking on all Call buttons, both in a context menu and on a ribbon tab.
Posted 09 May, 2011 05:23:13 Top