add two of virtually same add-in at the same time

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

add two of virtually same add-in at the same time
 
Mimi Yang




Posts: 120
Joined: 2010-02-01
Hi,

In order to add virtually same add-in into Outlook, what is the minimal difference needs to be there between the two add-ins.

I tried:
1. Make a copy of the existing add-in source code, so the location will be different
2. Change the ProgId

It works. Both add-in has been added to outlook. Anything else essential that you will recommend me to do here? As GuidAttribute.

There are some loading error when actually load the 2 forms into the pane, but I think that would be ok, as I am not expecting 2 add-in will be load at the same time.

So if both add-in is loaded, I think I can let the 2nd one exist without doing anything. Could you recommend anything here as well?

Thanks a lot.
Posted 08 Jul, 2010 13:03:08 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16588
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hi Mimi,

1. ProgId of all modules, property pages and custom task panes
2. Guids mentioned in the ControlTag property of all CommandBar controls.

At first sight, this seems to be all. I wonder why you need this.


Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 09 Jul, 2010 10:54:29 Top
Mimi Yang




Posts: 120
Joined: 2010-02-01
Hi,

The add-in is part of another project, which support co-existing/running of multiple copies (with some varibles, of cause). I am investigating whether to only allow one copy of add-in installed, or multiple copies as well.
Posted 09 Jul, 2010 16:49:21 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16588
Joined: 2006-05-11
Thank you, Mimi.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 12 Jul, 2010 04:07:23 Top