VSTO installer works on 1 PC but not on others

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

VSTO installer works on 1 PC but not on others
VSTO install 
Paul O'Neill

Hi all

I'm new to the Add-In Express world and am having problems with an Outlook 2003 add-in we have created.

We managed to get it working on 1 PC when we manually installed PIA assemblies, but the other PCs in the organisation don't want to play :(

Can anyone (a) suggest what is missing on these other PCs, and
(b) point me to instructions on how to create a single package that does everything, including
© handling PCs that have never had .Net Framework installed.

Many TIAs (TsIA?)
Paul
Posted 04 Sep, 2008 05:07:22 Top
Jacob Mesu

It's probably an issue with the permissions on workstation. Try this sample from microsoft. The installer class contains some extra functionality to set the rights correct.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=078124E9-1E88-4F51-8C98-3C1999CFE743&displaylang=en
Posted 04 Sep, 2008 11:28:07 Top
Eugene Astafiev

Hi Paul,

Please read the "Creating Setup Projects Manually" section in the Developer's guide.
Posted 04 Sep, 2008 14:54:34 Top
Paul O'Neill

Hi Eugene

I read the section on Creating Setup Projects Manually and was surprised that this was required since the ADX wizard _appeared_ to have created an installer for me.

Unfortunately, that didn't work either...

On the target machine where there is only 1 user with full administrative privilieges, we get the dreaded (and totally useless) error message:
"exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation" - like: what does that actually mean??? :?: :|

Anyway, what information can I provide to aid in diagnosing this problem?

TIA
Paul
Posted 19 Sep, 2008 00:14:24 Top
Eugene Astafiev

Hi Paul,

Could you send us the sources to the support e-mail address (see Readme.txt)?
Posted 19 Sep, 2008 08:44:54 Top
Andrei Smolin

Add-in Express team

Hi Paul,